Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Dinosaur Dishcloths

Posted by Andi on October 14, 2012

Here are some projects I have been working on for the past few weeks, but because they were gifts I wasn’t able to post about them until now.

Tim’s birthday and our anniversary are ten days apart. This year I am buying him one big gift for both occasions. Okay, so I haven’t bought it yet, but he knows what it is an is helping me pick it out, so he knows what’s coming. However, I wanted him to have something to open for his birthday, so I decided to make him something small.

It all started over a month ago when I asked him if he wanted me to make a sweater for him for Christmas. Although he thought a new sweater would be nice, he smartly asked me if I actually had time to knit him one. No, no I don’t. I don’t know why I even suggested it. He did say, however, that he needs new dishcloths as the ones he’s been using have started to become tattered. Because they were tattered I didn’t want to wait until Christmas to give him some new ones, so I decided to make some for his birthday.

Tim was a big fan of dinosaurs as a boy, so I found these four dinosaur dishcloth patterns.

Stegosaurus Dishcloth
Pattern: Stegosaurus Dinosaur by Knitted Kitty~Carol
Yarn: Lion Brand Lion Cotton Solid in Morning Glory Blue
Needles: US 6
Date started: September 16, 2012
Date completed: September 16, 2012

Tim is always around, so I took advantage of the fact that he was out of the house for most of the day on September 16 to get started on his gift. I was able to make the first dishcloth in one sitting while he was out. I wasn’t so lucky for the next two. I started each at our knit group, but wasn’t able to finish either of them there.

Pterodactyl Dishcloth
Pattern: Pterodactyl Dinosaur by Knitted Kitty~Carol
Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton Solid in White
Needles: US 6
Date started: September 24, 2012
Date completed: September 29, 2012

I managed to finish the pterodactyl dishcloth while Tim was sleeping.

T-Rex Dishcloth
Pattern: T-Rex Dinosaur by Knitted Kitty~Carol
Yarn: Lily Sugar’n Cream Solids in mod green
Needles: US 6
Date started: October 1, 2012
Date completed: October 6, 2012

I managed to finish the T-rex one afternoon while Tim was out for a couple of hours. Thanks to his sister who needed help removing a window air conditioning unit for giving me time to finish this one.

Brachiosaurus Dishcloth
Pattern: Brachiosaurus Dinosaur by Knitted Kitty~Carol
Yarn: Lily Sugar’n Cream Solids in mod green
Needles: US 6
Date started: October 8, 2012
Date completed: October 8, 2012

Last week I arrived about 30 minutes early to knit group, which was all I needed to finish this one on one day.

I should also add that Tim picked the green yarn himself, not realizing that I had ulterior motives for having him choose it!

Leave a Reply

 
