Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Major stash enhancement

Posted by Andi on September 3, 2012

The last time I posted any new additions to my stash was back in July. As much as I say I’m only going to buy yarn for specific projects or at fairs, I still managed to procure quite a bit of yarn since then. Here are the new additions to my stash, in chronological order.

First is this beautiful white Hunt Valley Cashmere 8 Ply Worsted which I received as a prize from the playoff pool. To be fair, in order to win this prize I had to put up a prize, so I don’t think this breaks my yarn diet. Of course, if you recall, when I bought the prize I was going to give I also bought a skein of yarn for myself. So, yeah, but it wasn’t these skeins!!

Hunt Valley Cashmere 8 Ply Worsted

Isn’t this gorgeous? It feels as nice as it looks. I haven’t decided what I’m going to make with it yet, but I’m leaning toward fingerless mitts. I was considering a cowl, but I am worried it will get full of makeup.

Next, I went to the going out of business sale for a yarn store in Chicago. I went with the purpose of buying supplies: needles, row counters, etc., figuring it’s not difficult to find yarn on sale, but you rarely see tools on sale. Yeah. I did buy needles, a row counter, and some needle protectors. I also bought this.

Ella Rae Lace Merino

Three skeins of Ella Rae Lace Merino (though Ravelry calls it fingering weight yarn). Really, I did not plan on buying yarn. It just kind of happened. The yarn has a little more green in it than this picture shows. This is probably the stash enhancement that breaks all of my current yarn buying rules. However, I know have a project mind for this yarn: Spanish Dancer. I think this will look beautiful for spring.

A few weeks ago, I very generous woman in my knitting group brought me a boot box full of yarn that someone had given her, but she was never going to use so she wanted to give it to someone else. She thought the colors were great for me, and those who know me would probably agree.

First, there were a bunch of skeins of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran in this gorgeous rust color.

Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran

I’m not sure what I’m going to make with this yet. Maybe a simple cardigan or a large shawl.

Next up in the box were several skeins of Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Chestnut.

Knit Picks Wool of the Andes

I’m not sure what I will make with this yet, but I still intend to learn to crochet, so Short and Sweet is a possibility.

Finally, the box included two skeins of Misti Alpaca Lace Solids in this beautiful brown color.

Misti Alpaca Lace Solids

Turns out, I already had four skeins of the same yarn in this nice light blue color.

Misti Alpaca lace

I’m thinking of using them together to make Etude In Stripes. I have more of the blue than the brown, so I would use the blue for the main color and the brown for the stripes. I think they would be really pretty together.

Finally, a new yarn store called Knit Nirvana opened in my neighborhood. I went to the grand opening, and of course I wanted the store to have a successful first day! Part of that involved me buying yarn. I was good about it, though. I went to the store with a pattern in mind: Rockefeller by Stephen West. I bought Shibui Knits Staccato in two colors.

Main color: Artichoke

Shibui Staccato

Contrast color: Velvet (it’s more of a wine color than the purple it appears in the picture)

Shibui Staccato

I think these will look great together.

It’s time to start knitting!!

Leave a Reply

 
