Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Ravellenic Games Part 1: Projects?

Posted by Andi on July 1, 2012

I haven’t been knitting much lately. Between being busy and it being really hot outside I either haven’t had much time or much desire to knit. Outside of making progress on the Spider Socks I’m making for Tim on my last trip I haven’t accomplished much.

What I have been spending a considerable amount of energy on is pondering what project or projects I will try to complete during the Ravellenic Games. Months ago I planned on knitting the Garter Yoke Cardigan by Melissa LaBarre, using the sweater’s worth of Dream In Color Classy I got at the warehouse sale a couple of years ago. I’m already working on a cardigan, though, and that’s going slowly, so I didn’t really want to start another one.

My next thought was the knit a shawl. Jane, a member of my knit group, was recently in Peru and brought back some lovely naturally-colored alpaca DK weight yarn, and she was kind enough to let me buy some from her. It’s actually slightly more beige in real life than it is in the picture.

Michell & CIA Indiecita DK

I found some patterns I really liked for it, such as the Stockholm Scarf (which is really a cowl), Stellaria, and Anjeli. Such soft yarn definitely should be around my neck!

But a few days ago I looked at the Olympic schedule and my schedule and realized that my schedule won’t allow me the knitting time I had two years ago. During the last Winter Olympics I managed to finish my February Fitted Pullover with enough time to sew the pieces of my Big Sack Sweater together. But this year Lollapalooza falls right in the middle of the Olympics. I also might have a three-day trip right after that, which means out of 16 days there will be 4 days I won’t be able to knit at all and 2 days where I will be lucky to get an hour or two in. So I definitely have to scale back my plans.

I’m thinking of starting with a much smaller cowl than the Stockholm Scarf. I have some gorgeous handspun yarn that I got from my friend Beth.

Birthday yarn

I think it will make a lovely cowl. I actually think I could finish this in one day, so I think I will also try a pair of socks. I have this skein of sport weight sock yarn.

Fibranatura Yummy

Since it’s a little thicker than fingering weight yarn I should be able to knit a pair of socks much more quickly. I think these Red Brick Road socks would be perfect. Only, you know, green.

Leave a Reply

 
