Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

The Fiber Event

Posted by Andi on April 27, 2012

Last Saturday, Frances and I made the 3-hour drive down to Greencastle, Indiana for The Fiber Event. (Note that Frances wrote a 2-part blog post on this event, and her’s is much more interesting. Plus she spins, so you can see fiber on her blog, whereas I only have yarn here. See Part 1 here and Part 2 here.)

After getting a quick bite to eat after the drive, the first thing we did was stop and look at the cute alpacas. This one looks dark brown, but once he is sheared his fleece will be true black.

Look at that sweet face!

Frances, a seasoned fiber festival goer, gave me the excellent advice to buy any books I saw that I really wanted, because sometimes craft books go out of print quickly. When I saw these two books I knew I had to have them.

Knitted Fruit and Vegetables

Once I finish knitting the vegetables I already have patterns for I will start on some of these. I was just thinking, I think I should go through all of these fruit and vegetable patterns to see if there are enough that grow at various times of year for me to make my dining room table centerpiece seasonal. I will have to look into that.

There was a lot of beautiful yarn there, so to narrow my focus I looked primarily at yarns that were truly unique or that were natural colors. I’m a sucker for yarn that is the same color as the animal it came from (even though, until last week, I had only ever bought two skeins of such yarn, and one was a gift for someone else). The first yarn that really caught my eye was this lambswool and silk laceweight yarn from Mohair In Motion. It’s 1000 yards.

Mohair In Motion

Recently I had been lamenting (in my head, not really to anyone) that I have used a lot of my solid or semi-solid sock yarn for gifts, so I had no sock yarn for myself that would be appropriate for socks with intricate stitch patterns. Imagine my delight when I found this. It’s a natural animal color, fingering weight, and perfect for intricate stitch patterns. It is from Oak Meadow Alpaca Farm.

Oak Meadow Alpaca Farm

I thought that was going to be it as far as yarn goes, but then I made the (un)fortunate mistake to wander over to the Briar Rose Fibers booth while Frances was looking at the Fiber Optic booth across the aisle (which I had to extricate myself from immediately because I almost bought a bunch of Fiber Optic yarn). I think this is the first time I have ever seen Briar Rose Fibers yarns in person, and they are really beautiful. As soon as I saw this one I knew I had to have it. It’s fingering weight, and I think it would make a beautiful shawl to go with my new black dress.

Briar Rose Fibers Sea Pearl

I totally overshot my budget, but it had nothing to do with buying an extra skein of yarn or some books. It was because the most adorable woman, Gee Gee, was selling her amazing aprons. She used patterns from the 1920s-1950s, and makes them on her 1918 Singer. I bought two, both in the 1930s style. The first was a full apron with a bib, modeled beautifully by Tim. Of course I loved this one, it is mostly black!

1930s style apron

The second was a serving apron. I know what you are thinking… “I can’t believe she bought that! It’s bright pink!” For some reason I’m into bright pink stuff lately (such as this yarn), and I just had to have it.

1930s style serving apron

The apron lady was the highlight of the show for me. A close second was the flax demonstration put on by this cute couple who work at a pioneer village. They showed how to process the flax plant by hand and turn it into linen thread. The husband made most of the tools he was using by hand. It was really interesting.

Flax to linen demonstration

I think a close third was meeting Stephen Bowman from the Bedford College of Lace Making. He was demonstrating bobbin lace, which we both thought was really cool.

Bobbin lace making

He showed us how he makes the lace, and told us about the classes he teaches. I am bound and determined to learn how to do this.

Bobbin lace making

Watch this space for some lace, probably in the autumn.

2 Responses to “The Fiber Event”

  1. knitting1105 said

    Tim is quite the sport to model your aprons. He does a great job!

  2. Tamela said

    And, as pointed out previously, it is very moderately priced for how efficient it is.

Leave a Reply

 
