Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Lesson learned: Must knit on planes

Posted by Andi on January 15, 2012

Last week I went on a business trip, and I didn’t bring any knitting with me for two main reasons.

1. I was going to be gone for five days. With all of the clothes I had to bring and my desire to not check my baggage, there was no room in either of my bags for knitting.

2. As I mentioned in a previous post, I was considering not bringing knitting on trips unless it was absolutely necessary so that if I wasn’t asleep or working on the plane I could read for pleasure, something I haven’t had as much time as I would like of late.

The decision not to bring any knitting meant I had to alter how I travel. Normally I keep my cell phones and iPod in my project bag so they are easy to take out and put away at the appropriate times. The bag I keep under my seat is big and can be a pain to keep taking out if the flight is crowded. With no project bag I did have to take that bag out to deal with my cell phones.

I made one key mistake, though. At one point I stuck my iPod in the seat back pocket in front of me while I dealt with other things, and promptly forgot about it until the next day when I didn’t have it. Despite calling two airports and putting in a missing item report with the airline my iPod was not turned in. I only had it for two months! Worse, I don’t use the horrible ear buds it comes with, so I had new ear buds and had just purchased new tips for them.

Anyone who knows me at all knows that I cannot get by without my iPod. I use it when I travel. I use it during my commute to and from the office. I use it at work. I listen to many podcasts and lots of music. Going without an iPod for even a short is difficult for me. Yes, I know this is a first work problem and in the grand scheme of the world is not a big deal, but flying home Friday afternoon would have been a much more pleasant experience if my trusty iPod had been with me.

Yesterday I bought a new iPod. Her name is Millicent. Since I’m starting from scratch with a new device and new ear buds and a new hoodie, I decided to wrap the wires of the new ear buds in embroidery floss to make them tangle free.

Millicent and her accessories

I found some old purple acrylic yarn left over from an afghan I made for my dad and stepmother for Christmas a few years ago. It’s less blue than it appears in the photo above. I chose the yarn before going to Best Buy since there is a Michael’s right next door, and I figured I could buy the embroidery floss on the same trip. Imagine my delight when I found purple ear buds! And they have skulls on them! Clearly those were the ear buds I had to buy. Then I went to Michael’s and bought some lime green and purple embroidery floss to wrap the wires.

The wire wrapping is complete with photos to come in a future post. I like how they turned out. Today I started the hoodie. I really hope I can finish it tonight so that the whole package will be complete in time for tomorrow morning’s commute.

Chances are that, due to this experience, I will never forget my iPod on a plane again. But there is one key way for me to make sure it never happens again: always bring a knitting project bag with me on a flight.

4 Responses to “Lesson learned: Must knit on planes”

  1. Agh, no!!! I can’t imagine the sorrow of a lost iPod, and I’m sorry that happened to you. It’s a shame certain lessons don’t have easier ways of being learned.

  2. knitting1105 said

    A flight without knitting!!! To me that is worse than without music. I think that your knitting was trying to send you a message. Just take it along for the ride, a sock is not much room.

    • Andi said

      Normally I do, but my bags were so full last time that there was no place to put it. That’s okay, the new iPod is up and running, and I’m bringing it with me, along with some knitting, on my trip today!

Leave a Reply

 
