Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Punk Rock Nessie

Posted by Andi on October 22, 2011

Punk Rock Nessie
Pattern: Nessie by Julia Zahle
Yarn: Turtle Cove Farm Turtle Feet in Punk Rock Girl, 1 skein
Needles: US 8
Date started: October 8, 2011
Date completed: October 15, 2011

As with my other Sock Stash Knitdown projects this year, I used some long-held stash yarn on this project. In this case, it was one of the skeins of Turtle Cove Farm yarn I bought at YarnCon just over 2 years ago.

First, a bit about the yarn. It was so soft and nice to work with. I love it.

Now, the pattern. I had a bit of a problem at first because the pattern was a bit confusing to me. I don’t know if it was a problem with the translation (I don’t think the original pattern was in English) or if I just wasn’t getting it, but there were a few places in the pattern where I had to make assumptions. In the end, it turned out okay. It was such a quick and easy knit because it was essentially garter stitch with short rows. It was a fantastic project for chatting away at knit group or watching television. I even worked on it in the car in the dark coming home from the Chicago Blackhawks first home game of the season. Mostly black yarn? In the dark? Yes, once I figured out what I was doing it was that easy.

One word of warning: I had to use quite a bit more yarn than the pattern calls for. The pattern says 400 yards of yarn are needed, but if you want to do the bobbles you need more. I had 460 yards of yarn, did not do the bobbles, and really thought I was going to run out. I didn’t, I had enough, but I don’t think there is enough left to even do one hexipuff. It was all fine in the long run, but if I were going to do this pattern again I would make sure I had at least 500 yards on hand if I wanted to do the bobbles, maybe more.

Would I want to do this pattern again? Heck yeah! It makes for great gift knitting because it’s easy and quick. And it’s so cute on. The ends sort of twirl up and look really cute hanging down. Also, if you look at the projects on Ravelry, people have really taken the basic idea of this scarf and have run with it. Some people use more than one color of yarn, some add on leaves or flowers or other things. There is so much you can do with this scarf if you are creative with it.

Oh, and for those who are wondering, I will be casting on the Sandalwood Socks tonight. Thanks to everyone who gave me their input!

Leave a Reply

 
