Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Napoleon the Nervous Narwhal

Posted by Andi on October 8, 2011

Napoleon the Nervous Narwhal
Pattern: Napoleon the Nervous Narwhal by Rebecca Danger
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool Ease in Oxford Gray, .45 skein; Lion Brand Wool Ease in Black
Needles: US 5
Date started: September 19, 2011
Date completed: October 3, 2011

This is the gift I gave Tim for our anniversary. I’m gone a lot of the time, so I made him a buddy. He likes sea creatures and those nature shows that feature them, and I thought the narwhal was an interesting sea creature, so it was an easy choice.

The toughest decision as far as this project went was the eyes. At first I considered buying safety eyes, but for a variety of reasons decided against that. I sought the advice of those in my knitting group, who suggested various embroidery techniques (I don’t embroider) and buttons. I went with buttons, but because I’m not skilled at sewing I had my mom help me out with the first one. I did the second one myself. I think I chose great buttons for his eyes.

Napoleon the Nervous Narwhal

Napoleon now sits in a place of honor near Tim’s desk.

This was the first stuffed animal I made, and I really enjoyed it, and plan to make more. I already know I’m going to make the knitted amigurumi vegetables for our dining room table. I have also decided I’m going to make a bunch of monsters for company in my new office, which is huge. Rebecca Danger, whose pattern I used to make Napoleon, has a lot of monster patterns, many of which are in a book of knitted monsters. It will be mine.

Leave a Reply

 
