Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

The projects are managed… I think

Posted by Andi on September 6, 2011

The previous post about my inability to properly managed my knitting projects seemed to spur something in me, as in the past few days I’ve been able to set my priorities and when I work on them.

Tim and I went to visit his parents over the weekend and I took three projects with me.

1. The Beekeeper’s Quilt. I made a few hexipuffs throughout the long holiday weekend. It was an easy project to work on while talking or watching television. It was also portable enough to take in the car on our way to a pow wow. I was able to complete three puffs on the round trip.

2. The double knit scarf. As I mentioned previously, this isn’t always the easiest project to work on because it requires constant visual attention. I managed to get a few rows completed while we were watching The Karate Kid Part II, which I saw a gazillion times back in the day. It was scary how many lines of that movie I still have memorized.

3. The laceweight cardigan. I did one significant thing with the cardigan over the weekend. I frogged it. Yeah. It had to be done. I was no longer excited about the process of knitting it. Usually my saving grace in those times is my excitement for the finished object — either giving it as a gift or being really excited to wear it myself. With this cardigan, not so much. I still thought it was cute, but I really watsn’t feeling it anymore, and there was no point in wasting such beautiful Malabrigo Lace yarn on something I was no longer excited about. I found another pattern I want to make with it, and will get started on that one of these days. But not right away, because of…

4. The mittens. Yes, I stared that mittens that go with the scarf and hat(s). I figured I wanted the mittens done before the scarf, especially since they should be a lot quicker, so I leap frogged a little bit. Yesterday I made the cuff of the left mitten. Tonight I started the hand, which is fair isle. I’ve done very little colorwork, and getting used to the two-handed fair isle technique is taking some time. I’ve knit two rows and it was slow going, but it will pick up. Oh, and…

5. The socks. My next portable sock project is ready to go. The pattern is chosen, the yarn is chosen, and I’m waiting to cast on and get a few rounds in before I leave on my next trip.

So far, so good.

Leave a Reply

 
