Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

My best sorbet yet

Posted by Andi on August 16, 2011

A few weeks ago I made lychee sorbet using canned lychees. The recipe said to save the syrup from the cans, but then only called for 1/4 cup of it to be used. Apparently I was supposed to dump the rest of the syrup, but I had so much of it left that I figured I could come up something to do with it.

Also a few weeks ago I made pear cider sorbet following this recipe, which was really good. What I thought was interesting about it was that it didn’t involve making a simple syrup first. Instead, a small amount of sugar was added to the cider. I wondered if I could do the same thing with the lychee syrup, and today I gave it a shot, and made my favorite sorbet yet.

Lychee Lime Sorbet

Heavy syrup from 2 20-ounce cans of lychess (minus 1/4 cup used previously)
1/4 cup sugar
Zest and juice of 2 limes

In a bowl combine the heavy syrup and sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Add lime zest and juice. Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. Note you may have to stir to distribute the zest more evenly.

This sorbet was so good that I could have eaten it all in one sitting. Instead I forced myself to put some of it away.

Leave a Reply

 
