Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Wherein I sort of start knitting again, even though I didn’t really stop

Posted by Andi on August 3, 2011

Despite it’s recent lack of presence on this blog, I am still knitting. Sort of. Well, I am now. I never really stopped, but slowed down quite a bit.

For a while it was just too darn hot to knit here in the Chicagoland area, especially when, like me, you don’t have air conditioning. For about four weeks the only time I knit was on Monday night at my knit group. Part of the problem was that the projects I had on the needles were not conducive to summer knitting. One is a cardigan, and while it uses lace weight yarn, it’s big enough now that it would be all in my lap as I work on it. The other project is a double knit scarf, and who can even look at that in a non-air conditioned room? Not me!

I kept trying to convince myself to cast on something small, something that wouldn’t be all over my lap. But I never got around to it.

The weird thing is, I was still thinking about knitting all the time. And I wanted to be more productive. What finally got my butt in gear was a recent business trip to Florida. I needed something to knit on the plane. Finally, one Monday at knit group I finally cast on the first of a pair of Right-Twist Rib Socks by Ann Budd. While on my trip I managed to finish up to the heel of the first sock.

Right-Twist Cable Rib Socks

The yarn is Brown Sheep Wildfoote Luxury Sock, and so far I love working with it. It’s so soft and nice. And because I was finally knitting outside of my weekly knit group meeting I became motivated to knit more at home, so I’m finally being productive.

Leave a Reply

 
