Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Pineapple smoothie

Posted by Andi on June 18, 2011

Pineapple smoothie

It looks like a giant glass of milk, but it’s actually a pineapple smoothie, my go-to breakfast for the past week.

1 cup nonfat plain yogurt
1 scoop vanilla flavored whey protein
1 cup frozen pineapple pieces

Put the yogurt, whey protein, and frozen pineapple into a blender. Blend. Pour in a glass and drink.

It’s so easy. This is my basic smoothie recipe. All I do is switch out the fruit.

In the past I had only used the yogurt and the fruit, but I found that I was hungry shortly after drinking it. At Tim’s suggestion I started adding whey protein, and it keeps me fuller longer.

The week before I bought the pineapple pieces I had a large container of fresh blueberries that I was using to make smoothies, and in switching I learned a few things.

1. Use frozen fruit or berries. If using fresh berries, add ice. The consistency of the smoothies was the same whether I used fresh or frozen fruit, but it was weird if it wasn’t ice cold. I didn’t add ice to the blueberry smoothies because it would have added volume and I didn’t want anymore. With the frozen pineapple I was able to get the fruit in the coldness all in one ingredient.

2. When putting everything into the blender, do it in the order above. At first I was adding the whey protein last, but found that it was difficult to get it all blended in. It stuck to the sides of the blender. Once I started adding it in the middle it started mixing in better.

I’m going to try different fruits or combinations of fruits. If anyone has any ideas for smoothie flavors I’m open to suggestions.

Leave a Reply

 
