Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Mismatched socks

Posted by Andi on June 6, 2011

There is a lot of beautiful yarn, and there are a lot of amazing patterns. However, just because you choose a beautiful yarn and an amazing pattern doesn’t mean you will have a fantastic finished object. Or even a remotely attractive one.

Earlier this evening I cast on the first of a pair of Sideways Socks using a self-striping sock yarn in a colorway I love. Like the picture in with the pattern, I thought it would still self-stripe, just up and down instead of around. Right? Not so much. Really, it looked like vomit. Seriously, vomit. I didn’t think this gorgeous yarn in colors I love could look so awful.

I thought I was defeated. I didn’t want to use a regular variegated yarn because I wanted the socks to be stripy, but the vomit yarn was the only self-striping sock yarn I had. Or at least so I thought, until I looked at my stash on Ravelry and remembered that I had some Noro Kureyon Sock. That self stripes. The stripes will be thicker, but still, stripes!

And I think these socks will be awesome. The toe will be a completely different color than any of the colors on the foot, as will the cuff. I think it will take too much thought for the two socks to match, and to be honest, that’s okay. Better even. They will be cutely mismatched and they will be awesome.

One Response to “Mismatched socks”

  1. Louise said

    I was just thinking about knitting a pair of sideways socks. Thanks for the pattern link. I am looking forward to seeing pictures of yours.

Leave a Reply

 
