Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

One can never have too many bags. Really.

Posted by Andi on May 31, 2011

For Easter my mom gave me the book Sock Yarn One-Skein Wonders. With my stash of sock yarn it was a most perfect gift! Of course I had to cast something on right away, or at least as soon as my last sock yarn project was done. And since it’s now farmers’ market season, and I have three within walking distance from me, I figured a market bag was the perfect next project. I chose one of the yarns I wanted to use as part of my Sock Stash Knitdown and got started.

I chose the Big Bang Market Bag by Naomi Herzfeld. I started by knitting a 6-foot long i-cord and sewing the ends together to make an oval. Stitches are picked up in the middle of the bag, a few more were cast on, and then the knitting in the round starts.

Big Bang Market Bag

The bag is knit inside out, so it will not look like this when we use it. Here is what the fabric will look like when it is turned the right way out.

Big Bang Market Bag

My goal is to complete the bag before our first trip to the farmers’ market this Saturday. It’s not looking likely to happen at this time.

One Response to “One can never have too many bags. Really.”

  1. Louise said

    I totally agree that you can never have to many bags. I just finished my third one!

Leave a Reply

 
