Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Wherein I spend entirely too much money (but don’t regret it)

Posted by Andi on April 24, 2011

We have a trip to Texas to pay off, but…

I has been anxiously awaiting the opening of a new boutique in my neighborhood called Pretty Little Things. The windows were papered over, but there were places where the paper didn’t go all the way to the window so I could see slivers of the store as they were getting ready to open. I saw some necklaces and t-shirts.

On Friday I was browsing on Ravelry, and I saw a new topic in the group for one of my LYS’s, Chix With Stix saying that Pretty Little Things was opening that day, and if you brought it a receipt from there from that day you would get 20% off your purchase at Chix. Well, of course I was going to take advantage of that!

I stopped at Pretty Little Things on my way home from work. What a cute little shop!! There is jewelry, baby clothes, t-shirts, dresses, glassware, baby stuff, natural cleaners, hand made lotions and body products, etc. Really, I could have bought up half the store, but I narrowed it down to two things.

The first thing I picked up was this glass.

Knitting pint glass

Yeah, of course I had to have that!! I almost picked up a coffee mug with a skull on it (you know how much I love skulls), but Tim had asked what I wanted for my birthday and I decided I want that coffee much for my birthday, so I walked away.

There was a lot of cute jewelry in there. I think it’s all hand made, and really reasonably priced given that. I almost picked up a wooden pendent, then almost chose a necklace with old typewriter keys as pendants, but I have so many necklaces. I started looking at some cute earrings, but then saw this bracelet.

Nature bracelet

It was hard to take a good picture of it without putting it on, but the green bit is a leaf. So it’s a (metal) stick, and then beads that are a leaf and a flower. The colors are a bronzey-brown, green, and off white. I loved how much it really looked like nature, and it matches a lot of what I wear. There was so much more I could have bought, but I can take my time and go back another day.

I promptly walked over to Chix With Stix to get 20% off some yarn. I was really torn as to what to get. I have a ton of sock yarn, yet it’s the one thing I can buy and easily find a project for. Then I saw some Misti Alpaca lace weight yarn, and after looking at every color and deciding I wanted each one, I chose this one.

Misti Alpaca lace

It’s not quite as blue as it looks in this picture. It’s somewhere between light blue and sea green. It’s very pretty. I bought four skeins, which should be enough for a large shawl or a cardigan. I’ve been buying a lot of lace yarn lately, even though I haven’t used much yet. I better like knitting with yarn that fine!

So that was Friday. On Saturday I happened to pop into our local Gap store and saw that there was a 40% off sale. Tim and I went back later in the day. I managed to get some clothes for work and a cute tank top, and Tim got a couple of shirts. A couple of items we got were already on clearance, and then were 40% off on top of that. We got five garments for the price of two! You can’t beat that, especially for nice dress pants for work.

One Response to “Wherein I spend entirely too much money (but don’t regret it)”

  1. Mimi said

    Ha! Awesome! I went there for the first time on Friday. I actually resisted the glass although I might be back to get it…

Leave a Reply

 
