Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Road trip to The Fold

Posted by Andi on April 10, 2011

I went to The Fold in Marengo with some friends yesterday. I must have decided to buy about 20 different yarns, then put them back. At first it was mostly lace weight yarns that were catching my eye, but I have several skeins of lace weight I haven’t used yet so I decided to focus on sock yarns.

After looking at every sock yarn available to me multiple times I finally decided to focus on yarns that were either solid or, if they were variegated, they have large color repeats so that I can knit socks with interesting stitch patterns and the pattern won’t get lost in the colors.

I grabbed a Zauberball in a colorway I had never seen before. It was a bright blue and green. Very pretty. Then, after looking at several different solid colors of Trekking I chose a teal color. I almost went up to pay and decided to put both skeins back because I figured these were yarns I could get whenever. Besides, I have knit with Trekking before, and as much as I love it, I wanted to buy yarns I wasn’t as familiar with to make the 90-minute trek worth it.

I noticed some sample socks on a display that had the large block color repeats I was looking for, but I couldn’t figure out what yarn it was. I looked around and couldn’t figure out what yarn it was. Why? Because the yarn in the skein didn’t look like how it knit up. It was Gypsy Girl Creations Transitions. I was originally holding onto two colorways, but ultimately decided to by Thistle.

Gypsy Girl Creations Transitions

The other colorway I had in my head was Mardi Gras, which was green, purple and yellow. I put it down when I saw this:

Frog Tree Pediboo

I don’t know why, but when I saw this bright yellow I just had to have it. It’s Frog Tree Pediboo. Since the Mardi Gras yarn had yellow in it I figured that was the Transitions colorway I should put back.

I was really surprised by the colors that were catching my eye yesterday. I never really considered buying bright yellow yarn before, but I had to have it. There were also quite a few colorways with pink that caught my eye. Pink? Really?

Leave a Reply

 
