Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

No time for a new hobby – wherein I learn to crochet

Posted by Andi on March 20, 2011

Although my free time is already limited enough I have picked up a new hobby.

Crochet.

Given that I already knit, is crochet really a new hobby? I can hear crochet enthusiasts screaming all the way over hear for saying that, but really I kind of think of this as an extension of my knitting. I can use crochet to finish knit pieces. I can make garments that combine knit and crochet. Finally, I would just crochet something instead of knitting it. At least theoretically. I need to get way better at crochet first.

I guess what I mean to say is that I view knit and crochet as two parts of one hobby – fiber arts. Where I manipulate yarn into doing what I want it to do and then wearing it. They are complimentary. Jewelry making is a different hobby. Gardening is a different hobby. Knitting and crochet – I hope these basically become two parts of the same whole in my world.

I took a free crochet class at the local library two weeks ago. It was only one session and we didn’t go into everything, but it was great to see someone demonstrate the stitches in person, and look over my shoulder to tell me what I was doing wrong. I also learned that I was inserting the hook into the wrong part of the chain. No wonder my previous attempts at crochet were complete failures!

When we were just doing stitches I was doing okay, but when it came time to make a new chain and start making a swatch of half double crochet stitches, well, something went horribly awry.

Horrible crochet

Does this look like crochet to you? No. The instructor came over and saw that I was skipping a step on my stitches. I finally got it right on the last couple, but this is just a hot mess. She told me to just cut it off and start over.

Last weekend I finally did that. It’s still a bit wonky, but I think this is way better than my first try.

Somewhat better crochet

I did not have written instructions, so I made this from memory. I couldn’t remember exactly where I was supposed to put the hook in the second row, so it’s a bit off. But the stitches went well, and I definitely see progress. It’s going to take some practice until I can feel as comfortable holding a crochet hook as I do knitting needles.

7 Responses to “No time for a new hobby – wherein I learn to crochet”

  1. Jen said

    Your second sample looks like you made a lot of progress. I totally agree with you, Knitting and Crochet are like two sides of the same coin… the part that makes fiberarts. I knit and crochet and they already kind of blend into each other. I started on the crochet side though.

    Keep at it! I’ll be excited to see what you’re doing next.

    • Andi said

      Thanks! I have an easy (at least it looks pretty basic) crochet pattern to try my hands at in the near future. I will definitely post on my progress!

  2. I still don’t feel quite right crocheting myself, but once the crochet+knit combos start opening up, it’s pretty awesome. Just keep at it!

  3. C. Shuy said

    I agree with you in thinking that knitting and crochet are 2 parts of the same “fiber arts” category.

    Although in my case, I prefer to crochet over knitting and I can do both as well… but to each their own.

    A suggestion for your efforts: use either thinner yarn or a bigger hook. That will help with stitch definition at the very least.

    • Andi said

      Will do. I still have no idea what size hook to use with each size of yarn. What hook should I use for worsted weight, for example? I’m sure I’ll figure it out at some point.

      • C. said

        I typically use an I hook with worsted weight. I hook or bigger.

        at K sized, the stitches are not as scrunched together.

        using an I hook for sport weight would have the same effect.

Leave a Reply

 
