Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

I have a plan

Posted by Andi on March 14, 2011

I wanted to use the Sock Stash Knitdown 2011 to finally knit up some of the sock yarns I’ve had in my stash for ages and ages, but recent purchases of even newer sock yarn had threatened to derail me from my goal. In order to stay focused I made a list of the sock yarn I would use for my next eight projects in the Knitdown.

1. I have several skeins of Dream In Color sock yarn, but I had one skein of Smooshy in particular that I have had for a real long time. It’s in the Black Parade colorway, which is pretty much a semi-solid black. I love it. And just to prove I’m on track, I’ve already started a project with this: the Ribbed Ribbon Socks by Wendy D. Johnson.

Dream In Color Smooshy - Black Parade

2. I got this skein of Fibranatura Yummy in the holiday grab bag my knitting group did. It’s green!!! I have two or three different patterns in mind, and I will probably use this one for my next sock yarn project.

Fibranatura Yummy

3. I have had two skeins of Berroco Sox for such a long time. I started to knit with both colorways when I was trying to develop my own sock pattern for a context. I failed. I’m not sure which colorway I will use.

Berroco Sox

Berroco Sox

4. Brown Sheep Wildefoote Luxury Sock. This wasn’t the first sock yarn I bought, but it’s amongst the oldest in my stash. I keep forgetting I have it. I will probably make a cabled sock with this.

Brown Sheep Wildfoote

5. Misti Alpaca Hand Paint Sock Yarn. I have used alpaca yarn to make lovely items for my neck. It’s about time I get to put this loveliness on my feet!

Misti Alpaca

6. Online Supersocke 100. Okay, this might actually be older than the Brown Sheep yarn. This colorway is so me, I can’t believe I haven’t made something with this already! Since this is self-striping yarn I think I will just make a plain sock and let the yarn do the work for me.

ONline Supersocke 100

7. Schachenamyr Normatta Regia Line Steps Color. I’ve used this yarn in blue, but those socks are too small. Hopefully these will work out. I like that it’s solid enough to use with a nice stitch pattern, but every once in a while there’s a little flash of another color to make things interesting.

Regia Line Steps Color

8. And last, but certainly not least, Turtle Cove Farm Terrapin Toes. I bought these skeins at Yarn Con a couple of years ago, one for myself and one for Tim. Guess which is which! If I’m feeling generous I will make Tim some socks. If not, I was considering using my skein for some arm warmers.

Turtle Cove Terrapin Toes Sock Yarn

Turtle Cove Terrapin Toes Sock Yarn

One Response to “I have a plan”

  1. […] three within walking distance from me, I figured a market bag was the perfect next project. I chose one of the yarns I wanted to use as part of my Sock Stash Knitdown and got […]

Leave a Reply

 
