Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Faithfully

Posted by Andi on March 6, 2011

For the past week I have experienced something that hasn’t happened in almost a year and a half — I only have one WIP. Why? Because the blanket that took me a year and a half to finish is finally done!

The blanket was meant to be a wedding gift, but the wedding was over a year ago. With no AC I didn’t work on much in the summer. And while I often enjoyed working on the blanket, when it got frustrating I would put it down for a while because I didn’t think it was appropriate to knit frustrated feelings into a wedding present. Thus, it took a long time for me to finish it.

We had plans to see my friend and her husband last weekend. I only get to see her about once a year, so I had to have it done!! I couldn’t wait another whole year to give it to her. Sure, I could have seen her again, or mailed the blanket to her house, but I really wanted to get it done and give it to them that night. I had quite a bit of the border done already, all I had to do was finish it and sew it on. How long could that take?

I was running low on yarn, so I bought the another ball. I sewed on what I had done of the border, and reached around two sides of the blanket and halfway around the third side. I went to work on the rest of the border, stopping every once in a while to sew what I did onto the blanket so that I had an accurate view of how much more I needed to do. The last few days I knitted constantly, hoping to finish the blanket before I had to leave on Saturday.

Saturday afternoon came, and I was almost done. Right before it was time to leave I sewed the rest of the border I had done onto the blanket, and I was still a few inches short. I thought I needed three more pattern repeats. But it was time to leave! We were taking public transportation to a restaurant near the theater to have dinner before the movie. I figured I could get at least two of the pattern repeats done on the train. Then I would need to sew it up at the restaurant.

Sure enough, I got two pattern repeats done on the train, but then I noticed another problem. I was running out of yarn. I didn’t think I had enough yarn to knit three pattern repeats and sew them onto the blanket. Tim suggested I sew on the two I had done, just to see how far I got. I started sewing, but then we had to get off the train. We sat down in the restaurant, which was really more like a bar, and I pulled out the blanket and started sewing again. Much to my delight I realized that two pattern repeats was enough. I was done! I finished sewing before our food came, and wove in the ends just before we had to leave for the movie. I finished it about 10 minutes before giving it to my friend.

Because I had to give it away right away, I have no pictures of it. However, it turned out just like the picture here.

So, for the past week I’ve been working on the Perseverance shawl. Although I’ve considered cheating on the shawl by starting a sweater or another pair of socks, I’ve decided to savor this one project, and enjoy not feeling guilty by letting another project fall by the wayside. I have decided I’m going to start a sweater next, and I’m not even going to swatch for it until this shawl is finished.

One Response to “Faithfully”

  1. knitting1105 said

    Only one WIP?! I can’t remember those days. I wish that I could have seen the blanket. I made a sweater from Vogue many years ago with trees on it like that.

Leave a Reply

 
