Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Tim’s Christmas Sweater

Posted by Andi on January 15, 2011

Tim's Christmas Sweater

Pattern: Iain by Jennifer Hagan
Yarn: Cascade Ecological Wool in 8015, 2.62 skeins
Needles: US 8 and US 7
Date started: December 7, 2010
Date finished: January 9, 2011

It’s only three weeks late! Actually, it finished blocking while I was out of town, and I wanted to patch a little hole, so I didn’t get around to doing that until today. I’m so happy with how it turned out, and I think it looks great on Tim.

Tim's Christmas Sweater

When Tim first tried it on after I finished knitting it I wasn’t too happy with it. The area under his armpits was really bulky whereas the body was really form fitting, so it looked really odd. Looking back it makes sense because the basketweave stitch is similar to ribbing, so it sucks in. Blocking the body of the sweater helped immensely.

Tim's Christmas Sweater

This is the most complicated pattern I have ever made. There was so much going on, with the basketweave stitch and two different cables involved. As I mentioned in a previous post, it was also the first time I made a saddle shoulder. The hood used a similar short row method as was used on the saddle shoulders. I was surprised how long it took to knit the hood, but I shouldn’t have been since for most of it there were almost 100 stitches per row.

I’m disappointed that it wasn’t done for Christmas, but I’m glad it didn’t take too long after that.

One Response to “FO: Tim’s Christmas Sweater”

  1. knitting1105 said

    Great job Andi! It looks like it fits great, and will be warm. I bet he loves it.

Leave a Reply

 
