Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

A sports fan is born

Posted by Andi on November 13, 2010

In April I found out a friend of mine and his wife were expecting, and I knew right away what I wanted to make for their little one. My friend is originally from the Chicago area, but now lives out west. I decided the gifts I made for them had to have a Chicago theme.

I started by using Lorna’s Laces yarn, a Chicago company. Then I decided to incorporate a couple of his favorite sports teams. I started with the Chicago Blackhawks.

Blackhawks Baby Beanie
Pattern: Baby Beanie by Ulli S. Shibuya
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Team Spirit #5, .33 skein
Needles: US 4
Date started: August 1, 2010
Date completed: August 14, 2010

Blackhawks Baby Socks
Pattern: Better-Than-Booties Baby Socks by Ann Budd
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Team Spirit #5, .39 skein
Needles: US 0
Date started: October 3, 2010
Date completed: October 23, 2010

And then, the Chicago White Sox. As a die hard Cubs fan myself, knitting something in White Sox colors was very difficult, but it was the right thing to do.

Chevron Lace Baby Socks
Pattern: Better-Than-Booties Baby Socks by Ann Budd
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Shadow, .42 skein
Needles: US 0
Date started: October 23, 2010
Date completed: October 31, 2010

Shadow Baby Beanie
Pattern: Baby Beanie by Ulli S. Shibuya
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Shadow, .33 skein
Needles: US 4
Date started and completed: October 31, 3010

When I ordered the yarn it looked like it was white, gray, and black, but instead it’s white and three shades of gray. Oh well. I think they turned out well. And I hope the wee baby, who is now just over a week old, likes them.

Leave a Reply

 
