Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Fingerless mitts for fall

Posted by Andi on November 6, 2010

I feel like I’ve been really prolific lately, but I guess it’s easy to feel like I have accomplished a lot when I’m making many small projects instead of working on something large like a sweater.

Andi's Reading Mitts
Pattern: Susie’s Reading Mitts by Janelle Masters
Yarn: Dream In Color Classy in Petal Shower, .56 skein
Needles: US 5
Size: Small
Date started: November 3, 2010
Date completed: November 6, 2010

The goal for this project was to find a pattern for a pair of fingerless gloves made with worsted weight variegated yarn. Worsted weight because I wanted the pattern to go quickly. Some mornings have been a bit chilly, and I wanted some fingerless gloves to wear with the new coat I’m wearing this fall. Unfortunately I finished them today, the coldest day of the season so far, a day that requires real gloves. Do I care? No, I wore them anyway.

I bought this yarn at the Dream In Color warehouse sale a few months ago. I had been wanting to work with this particular colorway for a while, but I’ve always been wary to buy it. After all, I’m not really a pink kind of girl. Brown yes, pink no. Yet every time I saw a skein of Petal Shower in any weight I was tempted to buy it. I resisted the urge because I feared I would make something out of yarn in this colorway and then not want to wear it if I thought it was too pink. This skein was in a $5 bin, so I figured what the heck. If I dislike it, I only lost $5.

But I really like it, maybe because it’s only a little pink. They look good on my hands. I think they will look cute with my plaid coat, but this afternoon I wore them with my brown wool winter coat and they looked adorable.

One Response to “Fingerless mitts for fall”

  1. Adrienne said

    I wouldn’t have figured you for a pink sort of girl, but these look great! I can imagine how awesome they looked with brown.

Leave a Reply

 
