Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Problem Solved

Posted by Andi on November 5, 2010

I am convinced that every problem can be solved by finding the perfect knitting pattern.

My iPod battery is sensitive to the cold. Once it gets cold out, the battery just dies. Several people have told me to keep it close to my body when it’s cold out, but then how am I supposed to change what I’m listening to? Clearly that doesn’t work for me. It’s old case was a funky silver metal case that was padded inside. My astute boyfriend said that maybe the fact that its case was metal made it colder. I thought the padding might help insulate it, but really, it probably didn’t.

I knew I needed a new solution when the battery died on my way to work one day last week when it wasn’t even that cold out. I don’t want to spend the money on a new iPod right now, one that is newer and has a heartier battery, so I needed to come up with something else. I have plenty of yarn, so I decided to knit it a cozy.

I wasn’t even going to look on Ravelry for a pattern because how hard is it to knit a little tube? But I didn’t feel like figuring out gauge and how many stitches to cast on, so I set about searching for some patterns. I saw lots of basic patterns and thought I had chosen something nice and basic when I saw this pattern. Anyone how knows me even a little bit will know immediately why I chose this particular pattern.

iPod hoodie
Pattern: iPhoodie by Emily Vanek
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool Ease in Blue Heathers, .35 skein
Needles: US 5 DPN
Date started: October 31, 2010
Date completed: November 1, 2010

I made a sweater for my iPod! I showed it to some coworkers, and one said I should market them. I can’t because it’s not my pattern, but I wish it was. I should have created this! But I didn’t, so thanks to Emily who did so I could make such a cool iPod cozy. Oh, and it works. The battery hasn’t died on the chilly mornings we’ve had here in Chicago this week.

2 Responses to “Problem Solved”

  1. elan said

    very cute, love the pouch

  2. Angela said

    You know, now that I think about it, you might have been able to take a beer coozie (koozie?) pattern and made it into this too 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
