Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Sort of like calories on a holiday, yarn bought at a warehouse sale doesn’t break a yarn diet

Posted by Andi on July 11, 2010

The bins I purchased to hold my yarn stash are now full; however, that did not stop me from going to the Dream In Color warehouse moving sale with some friends a couple of weeks ago. Not only did I not have any space for new yarn, but I had no idea what I was looking for. I wasn’t looking for yarn in a particular color or for a particular project. This led to me buying entirely too much yarn.

Some of the yarn that was for sale had dying issues, where the color didn’t turn out exactly how it was supposed to. Some of the other yarn that was available either had knots or didn’t twist tightly. I bought some of both.

The yarn didn’t have labels on it, so I’m guessing at some of the colors. If you think you can tell what color any of this yarn is supposed to be, please let me know.

I will start with Classy. Some of the Classy was sold in 5- and 6-skein bundles, which is enough for a sweater. I bought a 5-skein bundle that is a sort of green color:

Dream In Color Classy

At first I was thinking it might be Bermuda Teal, but then when I was looking at it more closely I thought it was too green for that. It’s greener than it appears in this photo. Maybe it was still spruce and came out too lightly? I don’t know. It’s very pretty, however, and a great color for a sweater for me.

I bought two skeins of Classy from the bargain bin.

Dream In Color Classy

The first is petal shower. I have always wanted to knit with this colorway, but I knew I would never wear it myself. I figure I can use this to make a gift. I’m not sure the exact color of this next one:

Dream In Color Classy

Maybe it’s Pansy Golightly? It has a bit of green or teal in it as well. This was a total impulse purchase. I figured it would make a nice hat.

The Smooshy was being sold for 5 skeins for $50, so of course I had to buy 5 skeins.

Dream In Color Smooshy

I loved this skein of Happy Forest. I have a skein of Starry in this color. I just love it. I can never have too much green yarn! Speaking of green yarn:

Dream In Color Smooshy

I have no idea what this color is. It sort of looks like pictures of Green Lantern that I’ve seen, only it has black in it. Is there any more perfect yarn for me than a yarn that is both green and black? I think not.

Dream In Color Smooshy

I think this one is Blue Lagoon. I toyed between that and Bermuda Teal, but it seems too blue. I’ve been wanting to work with both of those colors, so I was glad to find this one.

Dream In Color Smooshy

I think this is either Cinnamon Girl or Prairie Grass. I’m leaning toward Cinnamon Girl. And finally, I have no idea what this is:

Dream In Color Smooshy

It’s pretty much solid. I’m guessing it’s from the new solid series, but I can’t tell what color it is supposed to be.

So, that’s it. When I figured out the cost I figured I got all of the yarn for what I would have paid for the Classy had it been regular price. So what if I had no room for it… how can one pass up such a deal?

Leave a Reply

 
