Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

2010 Knitting Resolution

Posted by Andi on January 10, 2010

I know someone who last year did the 52 projects in 52 weeks thing, and saw some buzz around Ravelry from people who are planning to do that in 2010. It very nearly sucked me in. That sounds like a great goal. Perhaps it would help me destash. Upon further thought, however, I determined that this wasn’t the right New Year’s Knitting Resolution for me.

Why?

1. I don’t think there are enough small projects that I need or want to make. There are a few. I still plan on making Fetching, and have yarn for it. We want to have a lot more dishrags on hand (and part of my boyfriend’s Christmas present was to knit to Doctor Who themed dishcloths, which I haven’t made yet). Maybe one or two little baby things. But enough for 52 projects? I didn’t want to be focusing on so many smaller things I am not passionate about at the expensive of larger objects I am passionate about, just to get 52 done.

2. I tend to turn my hobbies into work, and in so doing I cause myself a lot of stress. A perfect example is my desire to see as many films that are nominated for Golden Globes or Academy Awards before the actual award show occurs. I was successful a couple of times, but I haven’t managed to pull it off in a few years. The first year I was unsuccessful after pulling it off I was trying really hard, but I just wasn’t enjoying it. I was spending a lot of time and energy trying to figure out how to see films, as some were only on a few screens and not yet on DVD. At the time I was still a poor grad student, and finances were a concern as well. On top of work stress and school stress, I turned something that was supposed to be an enjoyable pastime into something stressful. I had to give up. Crazy, isn’t it?

I fear doing the same thing with knitting. Holiday or gift knitting doesn’t count. We all get behind sometimes, and finish knitting that gift 10 minutes before leaving the house to give the gift. Or maybe it doesn’t get finished in time at all. That stress can be productive. But I fear that pushing myself to finish 52 projects in a year will turn into the film thing. I have a wonderful, challenging career, but it requires a lot of hard work, long hours, concentration, and stress. My goal is to turn some of that off when I’m at home, and destress a bit. I don’t think knitting 52 projects in a year would help.

Baby steps.

So I came up with my own resolution, which isn’t quite as ambitious, but still has me moving forward as far as my knitting productivity goes. I cut it in half. 26 finished objects in 2010. Nineteen is the most I’ve completed in a year up to now, and given my desire to make dishcloths (as mentioned above) I think 26 is quite doable.

I feel like I’m cheating a wee bit, though. It’s January 10, and I have three finished objects already. Two were started in January, but one, the Texter Gloves, were primarily done in 2009. All of the knitting was complete. I just had to sew on the thumb caps and weave in loose ends. It took an hour or so. But it still counts as a 2010 FO. And then there’s the Big Sack Sweater. I finished the actual knitting about a year ago, maybe longer. It just needs to be seamed. Four seams: the sides of the body and each sleeve. That will take an hour or two, but the dozen or so hours it took to knit the pieces was already done. Even still, that leaves 24 true FOs to complete in 2010.

So, here we go.

Leave a Reply

 
