Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

The Schizophrenic Knitter

Posted by Andi on November 24, 2009

My knitting personality is now fractured.

My wardrobe is pretty plain. When I was a poor graduate student I only bought basic pieces of clothing so that things could mix and match. Because of that I have few interesting pieces of clothing. I’ve been trying to change that, but I don’t have money to buy an entirely new wardrobe. That’s where knitting comes in. I can knit accessories that makes my wardrobe look less blah.

It’s a good thing that most of the projects that appeal to me these days are things like scarves and shawls. For instance, I finished my Herbivore last night, and I will wear it today. It should jazz up the plain cotton shirts I’m currently wearing. But I keep seeing all of these beautiful shawl and scarf and cowl patterns, and I want to make all of them.

The other side of my brain thinks that knitting is an opportunity to jazz my wardrobe up by making pullovers and cardigans and vests, particularly ones that I can wear to work on days when I want to look a little nicer but don’t have to wear a suit. There are so many sweater patterns I want to make, with the Aleita Shell and February Fitted Pullover at the top of my list.

But how can I make all of these shawls and scarves and pullovers and cardigans and vests at the same time? I can’t.

Maybe I should just focus on socks.

One Response to “The Schizophrenic Knitter”

  1. Louise said

    Totally understand!! If only we had more time to knit everything that we would like!

Leave a Reply

 
