Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Heritage Booties

Posted by Andi on November 8, 2009

Heritage Booties
Pattern: Heritage Booties by Jeanne McCanless from Interweave Knits, Holiday Gifts 2009
Needles: US 0 DPNs
Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy in Giant Peach
Date Started: October 29, 2009
Date Completed: November 3, 2009

I made these booties for one of my colleagues who had her first child, a girl, a few weeks ago. The baby was born early and is still quite tiny, so she won’t be able to fit into these booties for a while yet. I wanted to make something special for my colleague, but I expected to have more time. After the baby was born I started looking through baby patterns that would work with the yarn I have, and I didn’t find anything that struck my fancy. Then I looked through the preview of Interweave Knits, Holiday Gifts 2009 and found these booties. I thought these would be perfect!

Thank goodness the good folks over at Dream In Color decided that their sock yarn would come in 450 yard hanks. I had this yarn left over from the Twisted Tulip socks I made for my mom for Mother’s Day 2008. I had no idea what I would do with what was left over, and luckily it was enough to make these booties. And I think it’s appropriate that yarn that was left over from a project I made for the best mom I know (my own!) would be used to make a gift for a brand new mommy.

Leave a Reply

 
