Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

WIP: Christmas Lights socks

Posted by Andi on November 6, 2009

I’m working on my second pair of toe-up socks. The first one is finished.

My second ever toe-up sock

Can you spot where my tension changed on the leg? I love the pooling that I’m getting. I cast on the second sock yesterday and so far it appears to be doing the same thing. Maybe the socks will be similar.

Starting the second sock was just as difficult as starting the first sock. Judy’s Magic Cast On is tough for the first two rows if one is using DPNs. I kept dropping stitches, and I wasn’t always able to pick them back up or I would find them after I overcompensated by doing an M1, thinking I missed one somewhere.

So I did something I usually don’t do. I put the socks away after only completing one and started more projects.

I know two people who have recently had their first child, so I made baby gifts. I will take some pictures over the weekend. My colleague will get a pair of booties, and my hair stylist will get a baby slouchy hat. These two projects took approximately a week or so to do, so that meant I finished one sock and didn’t cast on the other for a week. That’s a long time for me. In order to avoid second sock syndrome I usually cast on as soon as I finish the first one, usually in the first sitting. Second Sock Syndrome didn’t beat me, as I’m now well into the second sock.

Leave a Reply

 
