Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

In which I spend too much money, but not really.

Posted by Andi on July 19, 2009

As I said in my last post, the last time I went to an LYS was to buy a 12″ circular needle. And only a 12″ circular needle. Walk in, get the needle, walk out.

Yeah, right.

The circular needles are kept behind the counter. When I walked in the woman working at the store was helping other customers, so I hung back a while. I saw a new book on a table and looked at a couple of pages of it. I walked over to the sock yarn and lace weight section and nosed around a bit, but didn’t pick anything up. That was a good sign, or so I thought.

I was looking at some worsted weight yarn, when I noticed a hank of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in the Maple Grove colorway. I’ve been wanting to make something out of that colorway for a while, and figured one day I would make some socks or something.

Then I went into another room, and ran into one of the gals from knit group. We talked for a while. She showed me a beautiful sock pattern she wanted to make. As we were talking I noticed some Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Bulky in the Maple Grove colorway. I pointed it out, saying how much I liked it, but really, what would I make with it? I’ve always been wary of making an entire sweater out of varigated yarn like that. A hat? A scarf? Oh well, I left to get my needle.

I walked back to the front of the store, and that book caught my eye again. It was Knitted Gifts by Ann Budd. I started looking more closely at the patterns in the book. That was when I found the Curry Spice Hat and Scarf. I’ve been wanting to make a hat, scarf, and glove set to match my brown winter coat. I wanted the hat to be a beret. Where was a beret and scarf set. The yarn was self-striping, but then I thought, hmmm, maybe this will look good in the Maple Grove colorway! I wasn’t sure how well the stitch pattern would stand out with all of those colors, but it’s the colors I really wanted to show off.

This was great, but were there any other patterns in the book I liked enough to make the book worth buying? I had been having problems figuring out what hat and scarf to make, and what yarn to use, but I didn’t want to buy the book if the only patterns I liked were the hat and scarf. I started looking at the patterns more carefully when I found the best pattern ever.

The Texter Gloves.

There is nothing more annoying to me in the winter than having to take my gloves off to change the volume on my iPod. I considered making those mittens where the finger part flips back, but I didn’t really want a pair of those. Here was a pattern for gloves where the thumb flips back! This is perfect! This now makes the book worth the money.

So I picked up enough Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Bulky in Maple Grove to make the hat and scarf. The glove pattern calls for sport weight yarn. (Un)fortunately the LYS didn’t have any Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport in Maple Grove. Oh well, the hat and scarf will keep me busy, and I figured my bank account would be more than happy to wait for that purchase.

With my book and yarn in hand, I finally went up to the counter to get the circular needle. On the counter I found the new issue of Knitscene. I started flipping through that and found so many cute things I wanted to make that I had to get that too.

I went in to buy a 12″ circular needle, and left spending $113. Oops.

Were these things impulse purchases? Yes. Sort of. Maybe not?

I mean, I planned on making matching hat, scarf, and gloves. I finally found patterns I liked and yarn I liked that matched my coat. Is it an impulse purchase if it’s something I was planning on making anyway? I think not!

2 Responses to “In which I spend too much money, but not really.”

  1. Lorna's Laces said

    Love to see pix when they’re finished!

Leave a Reply

 
