Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

No WWKIP Day for me!

Posted by Andi on June 19, 2009

Last Saturday was World Wide Knit In Public Day. For the second year in a row I knew I wouldn’t be participating in festivities in Chicago. I don’t recall why I didn’t go last year. This year we had plans to go out of town to visit my boyfriend’s parents. I didn’t look up to see if there were going to be any gatherings in Northwest Indiana, but I figured I would knit in public on my own. I thought we could go to a park, or maybe the dunes, something. We could chill out and I would be knitting in public.

Alas, my plans were dashed last Thursday when my boyfriend cut his hand doing dishes, damaging a tendon in his hand. We spent most of Thursday night, when we were going to drive to Indiana, in the ER. We had to return to the hospital on Friday so he could have surgery. Our trip was out. And all of the work I was supposed to get done on Friday, well, it now had to be done on Saturday.

So I knit in public on Sunday. It was a nice day, so we went to sit by the lake. There were already several people there. We didn’t stay out long because there was a breeze coming off the lake, so it was still a little cool. I did manage to take a few pictures and knit a few rows of my Forbes Forest scarf:

The beginnings of Forbes Forest

Each row still takes me a long time as I have yet to find a rhythm on this project. I’m using Berroco’s Ultra Alpaca Light. I love working with the yarn. It’s so soft! But I really need to get moving on this project if I’m going to have this, a pair of gloves, and a hat ready by winter.

Leave a Reply

 
