Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Knitting in 2009 – Resolutions

Posted by Andi on January 3, 2009

I think, for me, 2008 was the Year of the Sock. I made my first pair of socks this year. And my seventh. That will probably continue in 2009. I cast on my first pair of socks, Jaywalkers, on New Year’s Day. And now that my stash has many, many skeins of sock yarn, well, I think I will always have a pair of socks in the making for the foreseeable future.

But there are other Things Knitting I wish I had done. Those are my resolutions for 2009.

1. Make at least two sweaters. I made no sweaters in 2008. I don’t know why, but I didn’t have the motivation to do something like that. I have already started one of the two sweaters – the Big Sack Sweater. Both sleeves are finished, and I started on the back last night. I don’t know what my second sweater will be. There is a vest I want to make, but I don’t know if I will count that or not.

2. Frog Lys. I’ve already decided I’m going to do so, but it’s still sitting in pieces in a disintegrating bag in my bedroom. I’ve gone through Ravelry looking for some patterns for the yarn, but I guess I had enough other things to keep my busy. The yarn is more likely to be knit into something else if it is actually available to me.

3. Do something with Poinsettia. Poinsettia has been sitting in my bedroom, in pieces, for 2 years. I look at the pattern now, and I really don’t think I’m going to wear it. I don’t think the sweater will flatter me. I only made it because I had the yarn to do so, and I wanted to destash it, not because I actually wanted that sweater in black and fuchsia. Part of me thinks I should sew it up and then decide, given that the pieces are finished. I don’t know, though, I think that’s a waste of time. But by New Year’s Eve I will have done something with it.

Leave a Reply

 
