Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

There will never be a good answer to this question, will there?

Posted by Andi on December 23, 2008

What knitting project(s) do I take with me when I go out of town?

I went less than 24 hours without a project on the needles. Last night I cast on the Big Sack Sweater from the first Stitch n Bitch book. It’s the first sweater I’m making since I finished Tim’s Cobblestone sweater for last Christmas. I’m excited to work on it.

But let’s face it, a sweater is a cumbersome project to lug around. I’m using bulky yarn, so it will be a quick knit. I can put quite a dent into it this weekend I think, but that means carrying all of that yarn and stuff around with me. Not to mention the fact that most of the yarn needs to be wound, and I don’t know that I’m in the mood to deal with that all weekend.

Socks are a more portable option, but after making so many pairs of socks, then a pair of wrist warmers, I was sort of looking forward to the change of pace that is bulky yarn, size 10.5 needles, and straight (not round) knitting.

I will decide at the last minute before walking out the door for Christmas eve dinner. At least I already know what to grab if I decide on socks. Yes, I have my next sock project planned already.

Leave a Reply

 
