Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Spirogyra

Posted by Andi on December 23, 2008

Spirogyra
Pattern: Spirogyra
Needles: US 2 DPN, US 1 DPN
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi

I viewed this project as an experiment in combining a variegated yarn with a stitch pattern. Often, when I see a combination, I think it’s too much. With all those colors, sometimes the stitch pattern gets lost. However, I’ve seen some projects on Ravely which used multicolored yarn with an interesting stitch pattern, and it was really attractive. But there were still ones that looked like a mess, and those worried me. I had this one hank of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, and I really wanted to make wrist warmers out of it. Once I found this pattern (and a few similar once) I really wanted *these* wrist warmers. So I gave it a shot, knowing full well I might frog the first one if I thought it looked like vomit.

Spirogyra

I think the color difference between the purple and gray is subtle because they are both kind of dark. From far away, or in bad light, it doesn’t even look like it’s two different colors. I really like how it looks up close, too. I don’t think it looks like vomit! I still think I’m going to be cautious when combing multicolored yarn with a stitch pattern. For instance, I’m relatively certain I am going to make a plain sock to go with my Sophie’s Toes Christmas Lights yarn.

And, thankfully, this was a true Stash Busting project. Yay! Stash busting. I need to do some more of that.

One Response to “FO: Spirogyra”

  1. I know what you mean about the variegated yarns. I am always drawn to them in the store, and they really do look like an arts and crafts project gone bad!

    Happy holidays

Leave a Reply

 
