Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Let the boring begin

Posted by Andi on September 15, 2008

My boyfriend must realize how loved he is.

He has to. Because I’m making him this:

The start of the most boring hand-knit sock ever

I thought that, because he has diabetes, I could make socks for him that would be better for his feet than store-bought socks. He seemed receptive to the idea of hand-knit socks, so when we were at the Knitting Workshop sale I asked him to find some sock yarn he liked. There were several balls of blue sock yarn, which is what I expected him to pick because blue is his favorite color.

Oh no.

“I only really wear white socks.”

He didn’t want a cable. No stitch pattern. Just 2×2 rib and stockinette.

These will be the most boring hand-knit socks ever!

I cast on yesterday, and while knitting with friends I managed to get quite a bit done. I worked on them on the train during my commute this morning. When I got home tonight I measured them, and they are 6″ long so far. I was going to make the leg 8″ long. I’m sort of surprised I got this far so fast, but when you are just knitting stockinette in a circle over and over again you can get a lot done.

I took a break from them this evening and worked on the hat I’m making. I probably won’t mention that again until it’s done. Of course, I could end up finishing it tomorrow.

One Response to “Let the boring begin”

  1. runlikemad said

    Can I say that I think it’s wonderful that you’re knitting a pair of WHITE SOX.

    … That really is true love right there.

Leave a Reply

 
