Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Yarn Binge

Posted by Andi on August 16, 2008

A few weeks ago I went to a sale at a LYS, and I broke my yarn diet. How can one pass up 40% off though? Even though I binged I was very good. I went in with a list of yarn requirements for a few projects I want to make, and I only bought yarn for those projects. I didn’t buy anything without a specific project in mind. I’m trying to reduce my stash to sock yarn (since I can always make socks) and yarn left over from projects. I don’t think I want to buy a sweater’s worth of yarn without having a sweater in mind any more. My apartment is too small for that.

Anyway, here’s what I got.

Mirasol Hacho

I got two hanks of Mirasol Hacho in color 309. I bought this to go with a few other hanks of Mirasol Hacho I alredy have to make the chevron scarf. There were two bins plus a cubby hole of Mirasol Hacho, and I wanted all of it. But I only bought these two hanks! Go me!

Suhrim Trading Co. Muse

Three balls of Suhrim Trading Co. Muse in black. I have never seen this yarn before. I couldn’t even find it on Ravelry. It’s mostly rayon, with some linen and metallic. That’s why I bought it, for the metallic! I thought I would use it for the Lace Ribbon Scarf. I knit a few rows of it, and I’m not sure I like it for that project. I go back and forth between thinking it’s sort of cool and spiderweb looking to thinking it looks sloppy. I think I will get a bit more done before I made a decision on that. I like the yarn, though, even though it’s a bit splitty.

Ella Rae Palermo

4 balls of Ella Rae Palermo. I bought these to make Ondine, which are arm warmers that go all the way up to the upper arm. Those will come in handy at work, where it’s freezing, and where they go up high enough to cover my tattoo.

Speaking of freezing at work, I have decided that once I’ve woven in the ends and washed Clapotis I’m taking it to work with me. It is often cold in my office, and I could use it on my lap or around my shoulders while I work.

One Response to “Yarn Binge”

  1. ames said

    So I was googling Muse by Suhrim Trading Co. and found your website – complete with a picture of the yarn I have (except mine is white) from the same store I bought mine at. Ha. Small world.

    And for the record, I have no idea what to do with it either, but it sure is pretty.

Leave a Reply

 
