Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Knitting for work

Posted by Andi on May 26, 2008

There are two reasons why my Ravelry queue became out of control in the past few weeks.

1. Socks. I added a lot of socks. I wanted to find all the socks I thought were nice in one place. Given how much I will be traveling I will be doing, I see a lot of sock knitting in my future.

2. Work clothes. I thought it might be nice to make some of my work clothes. I’m having a hard enough time finding professional clothes that don’t make me feel costumed up when I’m wearing them (thought I found a suit that I love the other day!). It will help me look professional, but still feel like me, at the same time. Every time I see a pattern that I think might be work appropriate I queue it.

To that end, I think I have decided what I want to buy with the LYS gift certificates I received for my birthday and graduation. I want to make the Aleita Shell by Bonne Marie Burns from the Spring 2008 issue of Interweave Knits in either black or a very dark gray. I could wear it over button down shirts for work, but it looks thin enough that I can probably wear it under a blazer, or wear it on its own when not in the office.

Actually, looking through Bonne Marie Burns’ patterns, I think there are several that are work appropriate and very me at the same time. I have a feeling I will be making several of these.

2 Responses to “Knitting for work”

  1. Captain said

    Cool! I’ve been wanting to knit a ChicKnits pattern, too. Probably one of the tanks or camis, though I haven’t decided which. Let me know if you decide to start this one. Also, you know there’s a Rav ChicKnits group, right? Just making sure.

  2. Andi said

    I will let you know. You know, I saw the Ravelry group at one time, but never joined it. Thanks for reminding me! I just joined 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
