Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

My birthday haul

Posted by Andi on May 21, 2008

My birthday was last week, and I managed to get some knitting-related gifts from 2 people!!!

The first friend gave me gift certificates for an LYS, and I’ve been thinking about what I would get with them ever since. I’m really hoping to not just enhance my stash, but to buy something for a specific project. I’m also debating whether I want to use the gift certificates to cover the cost of a full project, or whether I want to use them to defray the cost of a really, really expensive project, such as a cashmere sweater. We’ll see. I will probably come up with a few project ideas that fit both scenarios, then head to the store and see what I could find. There is only one specific project sticking out in my mind that I really want to start right away that isn’t socks or arm warmers: The Gossamer Stars Scarf. But I have to say, the idea of buying cashmere is tempting. I have no cashmere. I’ve never worked with it. Here’s my chance!

The second friend gave me the book Suss Design Essentials: The Ultimate Collection for a Handknit Wardrobe by Suss Cousins. Hey, maybe I should use my gift certificates to buy yarn to make a project from this book!

The second gift was a hank of yarn that she spun herself:

Birthday yarn

It’s really beautiful and soft, and the colors would be great for me. As you can see, it’s 100% wool:

100% wool handspun

And, just as I was about to ask how many yards there were, I was told to turn the tag over:

Crap

Oh well! We think it’s enough for a hat. I bet it would make a pretty Foliage hat. I really enjoyed knitting the first one I made, so I wouldn’t mind making another one. But I’ll look around for hat patterns.

I did good!

Leave a Reply

 
