Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Cuckoo Queue

Posted by Andi on May 3, 2008

Here’s a question for those of you on Ravelry.

How do you use your queue?

I ask because over the past few days I realized that I probably don’t use my queue in the same way other people do. Those of you who have me as a friend of Ravelry may have noticed that my queue is insanely long. 230 projects long. And although there are some quick projects in there, given the number of sweaters currently in my queue, I would say I have enough projects to last me the rest of my life.

Why is my queue so long? I don’t honestly think I will make all of these projects, nor do I think I really like all of them. I think I use my queue as a reminder system more than a list of projects I actually intend to make.

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve added a bunch of projects to my queue. At first most of these projects were socks. I was looking for sock projects that I thought would be appropriate for some of the sock yarns in my stash, and so that I wouldn’t forget what the projects were I threw them into my queue. Then, a few days ago, I looked for garments that I might want to wear when I get a new job. I have a tattoo on my right arm that I would like to keep covered while at work, so I would like to have tops whose sleeves come down my elbow. I found many projects that would be appropriate and that I would be willing to wear. I threw them all into my queue. There’s no way I have the time or patience to make myself a bunch of garments for work, but I may want to make a few.

And that is how my queue got to be huge. So what does your queue consist of? Only projects you plan on making in the near future? Projects you think are cool and would like to make one day but maybe aren’t “favorite” material? What?

3 Responses to “Cuckoo Queue”

  1. elan said

    I only put things I’ll actually make into my queue, I don’t think I’ve got a single thing in it atm.

  2. runlikemad said

    My queue is more for things I’d like to make – but, chances are I won’t make all of them since I have a hard time finishing small projects.

    If I find a pattern I like, I tend to just favorite it.

  3. Rachel said

    I use my queue much like you do – as a way to remember thaings I’d like to look at again. I recently put a whole lot of sock patterns in there just because I wanted to read through the patterns and work out which I might want to knit or adapt. I have no intention of knittting everything in my queue! That would keep me going for the next three years!

Leave a Reply

 
