Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Scarves: My new favorite accessory

Posted by Andi on April 28, 2008

I don’t know what it is with me and scarves lately. I’ve started wearing scarves as part of my outfit, not just to keep warm while outside. It’s not something I do frequently, but it’s something I’ve been wanting to do more often. Recently I seem to notice scarves and wraps more. When I see a scarf or wrap I think about what I can wear with it. Odder still, especially for me, is that I see myself liking a scarf, then thinking of what I can get to wear with it, as if the scarf is the main part of the outfit and the clothes are the accessories.

I think this is why I was attracted to the Phiaro scarf (which I finally wore on Friday for the first time), and I think that’s why I squeed when I saw the preview for the Summer 2008 issue of Interweave Knits. Behold the Gossamer Stars Scarf. Oh yes. I think it is beautiful, and I want to make it. Now. Except I have no yarn for it, I’m on a yarn diet, and even if I weren’t I couldn’t afford the yarn the pattern calls for (and yes, that’s the yarn I’m set on using). I put the yarn on my birthday wish list, but realistically, I don’t believe I will get it. Oh well. I can make the scarf any time. I can wait for it.

2 Responses to “Scarves: My new favorite accessory”

  1. Kathleen said

    I love scarves too. Last year I was in a mobius scarf stage but now I am thinking more of shawls and how to wear them. I am not really a shawl and scarf person but want to be.
    How is you r Doctorate going? My D in law is getting hers this MAy from Columbia. All the presentations are done not just final editing and binding but has been really stressed.HOw do you find time to knit?

  2. Andi said

    I finished my doctorate, and I graduate on Thursday! I’m very excited. Congrats to you DIL!!! Columbia, that’s awesome! Yeah, for me the final editing was just as stressful as preparing for my defense. I didn’t do a lot of knitting during that time, but I did a bit when I needed a little stress relief.

Leave a Reply

 
