Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

WIP – double knit piano scarf

Posted by Andi on January 13, 2008

I recently saw a picture of one of the members of The Horrors wearing a double knit piano scarf, and I liked it so much that I decided I needed one. Double knitting is on of the techniques I wanted to learn this year, so I figured a double knit piano scarf was a necessary creation. I found a piano intarsia chart online, and decided to use that for my scarf.

I got started yesterday, and here’s how it’s coming so far. First, the right side:

Double knit piano scarf - right side

And now, the wrong side:

Double knit piano scarf - wrong side

As you can see, there were some places where I was having tension difficulty towards the bottom. I think I’ve fixed that. I think I was knitting way too loosely at first. It took a while to get a rhythm down, what with knitting with two strands like that. As it gets toward the top I think it looks better. It’s a bit more obvious where the white is showing than where the black is showing. I thought about starting over now that I got the hang of it a bit better, but I don’t think I’m going to bother. So it’s not perfect. So what? It’s for me. If it were a gift perhaps I would start over, but it’s not. I might be able to fix some of it while blocking, and if I can’t, oh well.

I think I will have to buy more yarn, though. I bought 4 hanks of Cascade 220, two per color. I based this on a pattern for another double knit scarf I saw, but I think this one is wider, and I think I want it to be longer. I think I will see how far one hank of each color gets me, and then decide whether or not I need more. I would like to get back to the yarn store is quickly as possible if I want to get more so that I can still get the same dye lot. Given that I have a ton of school work to do, that might not be possible for a couple of weeks. So keep your fingers crossed for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

7 Responses to “WIP – double knit piano scarf”

  1. doozy said

    That looks really neat, what a great idea!

  2. psych2knit said

    very cool! Good luck with that. I’ve never done double knitting before – it takes me long enough to do one side. Hope you’re well.

    P2K

  3. Andi said

    I really underestimated how long this would take. I don’t know why, but I did. Oh well. Maybe I can wear it next winter! Right now this is the perfect project for clearing my head while working on school work when I need a break. I have to think while I’m doing it, and it’s a completely different kind of thinking ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Kim said

    looking forward to seeing the finished product!

  5. Erin said

    How beautiful! I recently completed an almost identical pattern in my very first double-knit project. I’d love to hear/see how yours came out! How did you bind off for this? I”m not thrilled about the way I finished mine (I just bound off with the black yarn and pulled the white yarn through to hide it. It didnt’ look as neat and clean as the cast on though…)

    Here is mine: http://erincanknit.blogspot.com/2010/12/moms-piano-scarf.html
    I think I found the chart on this site too! I had one of my pro-knitting friends teach me how to make it into a double knit ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. fotki.com said

    Your body should always portray a confident image and your
    hands should be flexible and never stiff. At Gavin Transport we have a reputation
    for providing our clients with a safe and reliable method of oversized transport within Western Australia and nation wide.
    Even though the aesthetic quality of the sound is state of the
    art, it is the way the sounds should behave but cannot
    because they are fixed recordings that is the fundamental problem of digital pianos.

  7. Lavon said

    Using a 1980โ€™s Casio electronic keyboard with a maximum of only
    20 tiny keys may not be your best choice if you really want to
    learn how to play the keyboard, but if that’s what
    you have, then it’s a starting point at least and is
    a simple introduction to notes on the keyboard.
    I played with several just to see how easy they were for me to navigate and was impressed with the ease of many.
    One of the biggest priorities is how to move the equipment
    so it gets to its destination in excellent shape.

Leave a Reply

 
