Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Half way

Posted by Andi on December 16, 2007

I’m half-way done knitting the cabled pocket shawl. I just have to knit the second half and then finish the pockets. The end of this project can’t come too soon as I’m hating the yarn I’m using. It’s Lion Brand Chunky USA, which was discontinued a while ago. I originally bought the yarn to make a sweater for the same person I’m making the shawl for, but I ended up unhappy with the sweater so I frogged it before it was quite done. The yarn is acrylic, and it’s really bothering my fingers. I have a raw patch on my right index finger from it! Injury! I’ve used other acrylic yarns, and I use Wool Ease all the time, and I haven’t had this problem. The yarn doesn’t feel bad knitted up, but I’m not happy working with it. I can’t wait to be finished.

Yesterday I checked out a new-to-me LYS near my mom’s house, and I found some Eucalan there. I was so excited! I’ve been wanting to try it, but I’ve never seen it in a store. I was going to order some the next time I order yarn online, but now I don’t have to worry about it. I love the idea of not having to rinse it out, as I always have a hard time telling if my hand washables are completely rinsed or not.

Oh!  And while we were at the store, my mom picked up a ball of Trekking Pro Natura yarn, showed it to me, and said, “These colors would look good on you.”  Interestingly enough, the yarn she picked up was the same colorway as the one ball of Trekking Pro Natura that I have.  It was the first ball of sock yarn I ever bought!

Leave a Reply

 
