Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

I fear I will be starting a new project today

Posted by Andi on November 2, 2007

Today I will be going out to the suburbs and spending the day looking after an elderly relative.  So of course I will be bringing along some knitting.

Whenever I have multiple projects going, my big questions becomes, “Which project do I take with me?” whenever I go someplace.  And yes, that question rears it’s ugly head today.

Here are my options:

1. Lys.  I’ve started working on Lys again.  I finished the right front and have started the first sleeve.  I feel that I really need to get moving on this project, but I don’t know, I don’t feel like bringing it.  Maybe it’s because, if I get far enough along in the sleeve, I will have to start the yoke pattern, which can be a pain in the butt when there’s 2 dogs and someone who might need my help at any moment nearby.  I think I’ll be leaving this one at home today, but I’m not sure.  I’m feeling guilty about it.  Yes, I feel guilty about neglecting my knitting projects.

2. Cobblestone.  My boyfriend will be here when I leave the apartment, so I don’t feel comfortable taking Cobblestone out of its hiding place.  It’s a no go.

3. Poinsettia.  It still only needs to be sewn up.  Not around dogs.  Next.

4. The glove.  I’m only half done with one finger.  Really I could finish this glove this weekend, and I should because the temperature is slowly starting to drop and they might be needed soon.  But I don’t know, I’m not feeling it either.  And I don’t know how my dad’s dogs are going to be with the DPNs.  They might be cool, but they might make it difficult too.  I don’t know.  Out.

That’s all the projects that are currently on the needles.  Here are the rest of my options.

5. Branching Out.  I was planning on making this scarf for my step-mom’s grandmother for Christmas.  I bought a yarn grab bag at Yarn Con that included yarn that I think will work really well for it.  Unfortunately, however, my step-mom’s grandmother is the person I will be spending the day with.  Wouldn’t it be a little weird to work on her own Christmas present in front of her?  Of course, she doesn’t have to know it’s for her until Christmas, so this could let me get a jump on it.  Hmmm.

6. My So-Called Scarf.  I’ve decided  that I will be making this for a coworker for Christmas.  Just what I needed, another holiday project.  I think this will be a quick one, though, and perhaps it’s perfect for today.  It’s only a 2 row repeat, which may allow me to attend to other things more easily than other projects would.  And if it goes quickly I’ll have the satisfaction of having another finished object.  Again, hmmm.

7. The Christmas Project Who Shall Not Be Named.  I’m not sure if I have enough yarn for this one, so it means breaking out all of the yarn and the scale, weighing it, and figuring out if there is enough there to work with.  To be honest, while it would be great to get this project started, I’m not in the mood to do that this morning.  It would be much easier to throw a couple of balls of yarn for Branching Out or My So-Called Scarf, grabbing my needles, and head out the door.  So I think this one is out, though it needs to be started soon.

2 Responses to “I fear I will be starting a new project today”

  1. runlikemad said

    How do you have a project going that I don’t know about?? I thought I knew all knit things in your world. This makes me a sad cookie.

  2. Andi said

    Um, we talked about this yesterday. On the phone. Remember? You said you would look it up when you got home…

Leave a Reply

 
