Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

WIP – He’s driving me wild gloves

Posted by Andi on October 14, 2007

Today I finally finished the first of the “he’s driving me wild” gloves I am making for Tim. And I actually have pictures to post! I must apologize for the quality of these photos. Tim has a lot of work to do, and I was lucky I was able to get him to pose his hand long enough to take these two shots. Also, the glove hasn’t been washed or blocked yet. I will probably wait to do that until both gloves are finished, and do both at the same time.

Here’s the back of the hand:

He's driving me wild gloves - back

And here’s the palm:

He's driving me wild gloves - palm

I absolutely love this pattern. The ribbing on the cuff gets old (it’s a 5″ cuff), but with the cable on the back of the hand and the seed stitch on the palm it never gets boring. It’s my first glove, and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. There is definitely room for improvement, but I’m satisfied. Tim is happy with the glove, and that is the most important thing since he’s the one who has to wear it.

Now I think I want to finish the half of the front of Lys I’m working on. However, I am definitely going to at least cast on for the second glove today. I will join it to work in the round, maybe knit a few rows of the cuff, and that’s it. I think I can avoid Second Glove Syndrome if I get started on it right away.

I bought two hanks of the Dream In Color yarn because I thought one hank for two gloves might be cutting it close. If I only use one hank I have to decide if I want to return the second hank or make something out of it. I’m sure I could make a hat to match the glove, or maybe make a scarf. Or something for myself or someone else. Or I can put that money toward another project. I don’t know. We’ll see. If I have to use even a little bit of that second hank I have to keep it, so I thinking about what to do with a full second hank is a bit useless at this point.

Leave a Reply

 
