Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Yarn Con

Posted by Andi on October 14, 2007

YarnCon was yesterday, and I had a great time.

It’s weird. I am on Ravelry all the time, and I see people’s user pics, and then go somewhere like YarnCon and recognize some of them. Yet, when someone says to me that they recognize me from Ravelry as soon as they see me, I’m surprised. Clearly I’m not the only one who pays attention. But it’s kind of nice to see familiar faces, even though you’ve never met the people.

Anyway, YarnCon. I attended the pattern making workshop, which was really informative. Altering patterns is something I’ve always been afraid of. I don’t know why. It’s really not difficult, but I’ve never felt comfortable with it. It was nice to have someone explain it step by step and make it seem less scary. It’s freeing knowing that it really isn’t difficult or scary to make changes or design a sweater.

I also sat for the 1,000 Knitters Project. I’m number 179. 🙂

Finally, onto purchases. I really didn’t buy that much. I had to have those magnetic pattern things (if you were there you know what I’m talking about). Those are amazing! I bought a set of 3. I also bought one of the grab bags that a knitting group was selling. Besides odds and ends I got some ivory colored yarn, which I think is a DK weight, though I could be wrong and I’m too lazy to go check right now. I think I’m either going to make Branching Out out of it, or maybe some other scarf. I think it will be knit up soon because I’ll probably make a Christmas gift out of it. I also bought some pins.

But that’s it. I saw so much yarn I wanted to buy, but didn’t get any of it. I just couldn’t justify it. I took business cards from all of the vendors, so I may very well purchase from 3 or 4 of them in the future. Perhaps once I graduate and have a full-time job I can justify spending a ton of money on hand spun yarn, but right now I can’t. And that makes me sad, because there were 3 or 4 hanks in particular from 3 different vendors that I absolutely went crazy over. Oh well. I have the rest of my life to acquire yarn like that.

Leave a Reply

 
