Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

New Magknits!

Posted by Andi on October 3, 2007

At some point while I was in Indiana the new Magknits went live. I immediately freaked out when I saw the Burridge Lake Aran Afghan. It truly is beautiful, isn’t it? I bet that wouldn’t be a boring knit with the differences in the panels. But it reminds me of a nicer version of the blanket I made for my father and step-mother for Christmas last year. It was a beautiful blanket, it turned out well, but it was the bane of my existence for months. Also, I finished it 10 minutes before we had to walk out the door to get to their house on Christmas Eve. I never want to cut it that close again.

I think the pattern I’m most impressed with is the Horseshoes Cardigan, and I think this will end up in my Ravelry queue (which is way too long, I’ll probably never knit half the stuff, but whatever at least it shows how much I like the patterns). I think the cardigan is pretty versatile. You could wear it with a dress or skirt, but I bet it would look good with jeans as well. I think the lace pattern would make it interesting to knit. Yep, that one’s going in the queue.

I think the Rainbow Socks could be interesting, given the right colors. I’m not crazy about the colors used in the pictures that are with the pattern, but I think I might like it more with colors that are more me.

One of the reasons I curse living in an apartment building instead of in a house with my own washing machine is that I can’t easily felt knitted items at home. I usually pay no attention to felted patterns because I figure I can’t make them even if I wanted to, so why bother? Anyway, if there is ever a felted pattern I wanted to make, Bitty Boo is it. How cute is that? I love Hallowe’en, so this would be the perfect project for me. Alas, it is not to be.

Finally, the Lása Shawl Headband. This is not something I would make for myself, but I could see myself making this for someone else. I think I have enough Rowan Kidsilk Haze to make this be just a little longer, and then it could be a Christmas present for my step-mother’s grandmother.

4 Responses to “New Magknits!”

  1. Cathy-Cate said

    Saw your post and had to pass this on: speaking of new issues, the fall knitty has an article on hand felting:
    http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEfall07/FEATfeltingoldway.html
    for a little project like Bitty Boo, an apartment laundry situation, and yarn that felted well, might be worth it to do!

  2. Andi said

    Thanks for the link! I think I saw that article when it was published, but I didn’t read it and promptly forgot about it. You are right, with such a small project it might be doable for me after all!!!

  3. Yes a Red Sox/Cubs series would be awesome! I may not even jump off a bridge if the Red Sox lose – although, no promises! My fingers are crossed for you guys!

    P2K

  4. […] New Magknits! […]

Leave a Reply

 
