Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Stash Enhancing Experience

Posted by Andi on September 7, 2007

One of my LYSs is having a big sale, so my friend and I went out there on Wednesday afternoon to check it out.

Oh, so much on sale! I almost bought some Regia sock yarn, but decided against it because I was iffy on the color. Although some of the first sock yarn I bought was at a big sale like this, now I’m of the thinking that if I’m going to get a really good deal on something I should buy enough yarn to make a sweater. Sock yarn is generally going to be $25 or less, and most of the time I could probably swing that financially. But having enough yarn for a sweater costs a lot more money, and I can’t always afford that.

There were 7 hanks of Needful Yarns Woodstock in color CS5368, which is sort of a light tan and cream color. I bought all 7 hanks, and with tax it only cost me about $37.

I got home and started going through patterns to decide what I was going to make with my new yarn. I settled upon the Big Sack Sweater by Jenna Wilson, which appears in Stitch ‘N Bitch: The Knitters Handbook by Debbie Stoller. This was the first knitting book I ever bought, and I fell in love with this sweater right away. Well, I fell in love with (and made) Skully first. But this was my second favorite sweater. And then, as I found Knitty and started buying magazines I forgot all about this sweater. I was reminded of it only recently when I saw it on Ravelry, and I added it to my queue right away. I’m thrilled I now have the yarn to make this sweater. Unfortunately I won’t get to it for a while. I still have to finish the projects I already have on the needles, as well as 2 Christmas projects. Oh well, at least it’s truly in the pipeline now.

Leave a Reply

 
