Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Knitting Scouts

Posted by Andi on September 6, 2007

The lovely Brenda Dayne, host of Cast On, has come up with the genius idea of Cast On Knitting Scouts where knitters can earn badges. Every time I think I have earned one I will post it, but there are a couple of badges I think I have earned already.

The first of these is The “Knitting Has Forced Me to Seek Medical Attention” Badge (Level One), which is described as follows:

In which the recipient has been forced to seek the advice of a medical doctor, nurse, or alternative healthcare professional for injuries sustained as a result of knitting.

When I went to the student wellness center at my university I wasn’t aware that my pain and numbness was knitting related. I was experiencing some numbness in the fingers in my left hand and some pain in my left shoulder/neck area. The nurse practitioner asked me if I had been doing anything different lately. There were three things.

1. At work I normally work off a computer, so I’m usually looking straight ahead at the monitor. For a week or two, however, I had been working off of hard copies, which meant looking down a lot of the time.

2. I was starting my holiday gift knitting, and although I was knitting regularly before that, I had really increased the amount of time I spent knitting then.

3. When I was at home but wasn’t knitting I was studying. Mainly reading.

The nurse practitioner then massaged part of my shoulder and asked if the numbness in my fingers went away while she was rubbing it. Sure enough, it had! Then she stopped and within a minute the numbness was back. She said that I had hurt myself (I think it had something to do with a nerve but I honestly don’t remember what her exact diagnosis was) from looking down all the time, both at work and while knitting at home.

Her recommended treatment: Take 3 Ibuprofen at a time instead of the recommended two (so that she wouldn’t have to write a prescription and thus I save money) and don’t look down for extended periods for at least a week. I had to hold reading material up to my face instead of looking down to see it, which was tiring for my arms. And, she said in no uncertain terms, no knitting. At all. For a week.

Ugh. Right in the middle of holiday knitting time. That was horrible. You know, there are times I go a week without knitting all the time, but it’s different when you are told you can’t do it. It became all I wanted to do.

I wasn’t sure if this truly qualified for the badge since it wasn’t knitting alone that caused me to seek medical attention. I’m pretty sure, though, that just reading at work wasn’t going to be enough to hurt me that badly. I think it was the combination of looking down all day at work plus looking down all evening and on weekends at home day in and day out that did me in. So here is my badge:

4 Responses to “Knitting Scouts”

  1. l3ahkn1ts said

    I was in physical therapy for a while for my back and shoulders. I told them I knit and one gal suggested I put a few pillows under my arms/elbows. This will raise your hands and knitting up to a level that can be more comforable for your neck and head.

  2. Andi said

    Oooh, that’s a good idea, thanks! I have so many throw pillows on my couch I’m sure I can use them to prop my arms up.

  3. Bobbi said

    thats awful! you need one of those cook book stands to prop your reading on!

  4. Andi said

    I do! Luckily I’m back to using the computer at work, so I’m only looking down while knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
