Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Finding a balance

Posted by Andi on September 4, 2007

This past weekend was a long weekend.  Tim and I went to Indiana to visit his parents.  I brought the yarn for his gloves with me with the intention of doing a lot of knitting when we weren’t out shopping or eating.

It wasn’t to be.  I didn’t do any knitting all weekend.  Not one little stitch.  Why?  Because I was reading instead.  A friend of mine sent me a book, and is looking forward to my finishing it so that we can talk about it.  The book is called Chart Throb by Ben Elton, and it satirizes shows like The X Factor and American Idol.  It’s really funny, and I have been having a hard time putting it down.

Therein lies the problem.  It’s a problem of multi-tasking, or the lack thereof.  If I’m reading I can’t knit and vice versa.

Normally I’m not adverse to multi-tasking.  I knit while watching television or listening to music or having a conversation.  I read while watching television or listening to music.  But I don’t get the knitting and reading at the same time.  I feel that I am unable to give either of them the attention they deserve if I do them at the same time.  Perhaps it is because they are both continuous actions.  If I knit or read while watching television I don’t have to look at the TV set the whole time.  I can look up when it suits me.

So, now that I really want to finish this book (or, shall I say, not finish it because I love it and I don’t want it to be done) does this mean that knitting falls by the wayside?  Is there a balance where I can work on both?  Should I put down my book, even if I really want to keep reading, in order to keep progressing on my knitting projects?  Should I put down my knitting when I’m in a groove just to pick up a book?  I spent last night going through books in my home, deciding which I can get rid of, and it reminds me of all the wonderful books I have that I haven’t read yet.  Right now the only time I read books for pleasure is while working out.  I read magazines during my commute.

It gets even more complicated when I take into consideration that the semester is starting soon.  I will have data to enter and a manuscript to write.  I’m trying to come up with some sort of system, for example working for an hour and then taking 20 minutes or so to knit or read for a break.  I’m also thinking of setting aside some time, perhaps on Sunday, to spend the whole day writing, and having the evening to do as I please.

My inability to balance these tasks out has me a bit worried.  I know that if I have a school deadline that has to be my priority.  But right now when I should be working but don’t have to kill myself doing it, how do I balance work and pleasurable things such as knitting and reading?  And if it’s this bad now, how is it going to be if I ever have children?

How do you create a balance between everything you need to and want to do?

One Response to “Finding a balance”

  1. purlygirls said

    Hi. Just read about your trying to find balance. First, I am jealous that you can knit and watch tv. I can, if I’m just knitting and purling, but if it’s something that requires a little concentration, forget it! I can listen but not watch. I have 2 girls and I can only knit at night. After you have kids your wants really have get prioritized. I’m in a book club that’s meeting on the 16th and I’m still on chapter 14. Because I’ve been obsessed with yarn I feel that I have to really get some knitting “done”. I’m going to write about the 7 projects I have on my needles since 8/19/07. My advice to you is to do whatever you want now, because when you have your kids you will have to find time to fit your wants and needs into their life.

Leave a Reply

 
