Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

FO: Montego Bay Scarf

Posted by Andi on August 12, 2007

Montego Bay Scarf
Details
Pattern – “Montego Bay Scarf” from the Summer 2007 issue of Interweave Knits
Yarn – Lana Grossa Rotonda Print in color 501 (4 balls)
Needles – US 8

I had a heck of a time finishing it, but it’s finally done!!!

Montego Bay Scarf

I don’t think I’m ever going to work with 100% microfiber ever again. The yarn was so slippery that whenever I dropped a stitch it fell way down. I love how it looks, but it was really difficult to work with.

The scarf curls a bit, but I don’t care. I rather like it that way. The only modification I made was that I didn’t braid the fringe. I didn’t like how it looked with the yarn.

Detail and fringe

17 Responses to “FO: Montego Bay Scarf”

  1. knittingnoob said

    Beautiful! It looks so intricate and delicate. How long did it take?

  2. Andi said

    About a month, give or take. I had to rip it back several times and made a lot of mistakes. For such a simple pattern I had a really hard time with it. But I stuck with it, and I love how it turned out!

  3. Emilee said

    That’s beautiful!

  4. Andi said

    Thanks πŸ™‚

  5. The scarf looks wonderful, and I must say So does the photo! What a beautiful job you’ve done on both accounts.

  6. geekzilla said

    I just made that scarf, and I love the pattern! I left the fringe off of mine though.

    It looks like the microfibre really suits the pattern. I bet it feels very nice on.

  7. Andi said

    Changelingthings: Thanks! I must give credit where credit is due. I knit the scarf, I took the photos, but my boyfriend was the one who put the scarf on the ropes like that. I tried to make it look pretty and it hung there, so he fixed it for me!

    Geekzilla: It does feel nice, but it’s also quite heavy. What yarn did you use?

  8. Sherry said

    That came out so pretty!! I really like the way the yarn looks!

  9. del said

    How pretty! I saw this on the IK blog. I love how you left your fringe free. Great job.

  10. bluepeninsula said

    Isn’t it funny–I left Chicago 11 years ago and yet I recognized Lake Michigan right away. Did you take your photos down at the Point?

    Your scarf is gorgeous and well worth the troubles the yarn caused you!

  11. Andi said

    Del – thanks! I kept the fringe free for two reasons. First, I didn’t like how the yarn looked braided. Second, because the yarn was so stretchy many of the strands I cut were stretched when I cut them, thus they were short. The braids would have been short and it would have looked weird.

    Bluepeninsula – That is funny. It could have been any body of water, but I guess Lake Michigan stands out, doesn’t it? I took this picture on the Loyola University campus.

  12. Emily said

    Lovely! I had initially dismissed that pattern but I keep seeing pretty ones like yours and now I’m reconsidering. I have some SeaSilk in the stash that would be perfect…Nice photo shoot location as well!

  13. Natalie said

    Wow– this looks great. I have photo envy! I am working on one of these myself but I don’t have a backdrop nearly as nice as this one. πŸ™‚
    Don’t blame you for wanting to avoid 100% microfiber in the future– my first sweater was a tank top in Microspun and it was a total headache. But this scarf really looks great in this yarn.

  14. Andi said

    Emily – I’ve seen a lot of nice pictures of them, they are all so pretty!

    Natalie – I had considered using Microspun for a project, and I don’t think I will do it. I love the sheen of microfiber, but it was just too hard to work with.

    Sherry – Thanks! πŸ™‚

  15. bluepeninsula said

    It’s the rocks and those wood thingies that told me it’s Lake Michigan, but the metal bars made me uncertain as to exactly where. I lived in Chicago for 20 years and rode my bike often on the lakefront bike path; I also photographed the lake. So I think it’s burned in my mind forever!

    Again, congrats on a gorgeous scarf!

  16. merp said

    Beautiful! Both the scarf and the photo. I miss Chicago!!

  17. Erica said

    That yarn looks as slippery as the yarn I used for my Mary Jane hat. I feel your pain on the slipped stitches! Turned out so, so pretty, though!!

Leave a Reply

 
