Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Another knitting lesson learned

Posted by Andi on July 22, 2007

Over the past week I learned a valuable knitting lesson, one I should have known already given that I have been knitting for four years, but better late than never, right?  That lesson is:

 Always respect the pattern, no matter how simple it should be to knit.

For the past week I have been struggling with the Montego Bay scarf from the Summer 2007 issue of Interweave Knits.  I must have started the darn thing at least 10 times, and I never get more than about five or six inches knit before I have to frog it yet again.  At first I thought I was using a cursed ball of yarn.  I am using stash yarn for this project (yay!), and I have four balls, so I decided to cut the fringe first and then use the rest of the yarn to knit the scarf.  I am hoping this will give me a nice long scarf.  I thought perhaps that first ball was angry with me for being used as fringe and thus decided not to cooperate, but no, this is all my fault.

This scarf has a 4-row repeat, where the only rows that should require thought are the even-numbered rows.  The first few times I started this scarf I thought I would know which row I needed to do by eyeballing what I have done so far.  That didn’t work too well.  Then I started counting even-numbered rows only.  That started out a bit better, but ultimately ended in failure.  Finally I decided to count every row.  1,2,3,4; 1,2,3,4; and so on and so on.  That was working well for a while, and I got maybe 8 or 9 inches done before I finally messed up and had to frog again.

 So I’m back at square one, but I am determined.  I have leared that I can’t take what should be a simple pattern for granted.  This pattern really isn’t all that simple in the sense that, because of all of the yarnovers, if I drop a stitch I have no idea how to get it back.  Stockinette, garter, whatever, I’m cool, but in this pattern if I drop a stitch I’m screwed.  The use of slippery microfiber yarn isn’t helping my cause, either.  But this is how I become a better knitter, so I’m determined to make this work. 

4 Responses to “Another knitting lesson learned”

  1. Emilee said

    Gah, that’s frustrating. Best of luck!

  2. Trilby said

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who has trouble with “simple” pattern repeats. I once knitted a shell that was only a 2 x 3 rib on the RS and all purl on the WS and I screwed up I don’t know how many times. On the other hand, I can follow a chart! Go figure.

  3. Sherry said

    I had alot of trouble with the Montego Bay. I ripped mine several times back to the beginning and then after I got into it, I would be continually ripping back rows. I put a stitch counter on my needles and counted every single row, 1,2,3,4. And until I got the hang of it, I counted to make sure I had 43 stitches after every row. It was a pain but it was better than ripping. After about half way in, I was able to find my mistakes without ripping, usually a missed YO and pick it up on the next row. It really helped me to knit this scarf when I started my Mystery Stole 3. As soon as I finished it(I was getting really good at it in the end) I CO for another so I wouldnt lose any momentum. Hope this helps! Good luck!

  4. Andi said

    Right now I’m at the point where I am counting every row. I’m not counting the stitches after every row, but I’m doing it often. I think part of my problem is that I’m using this slippery microfiber yarn, so if I drop a stitch it falls way down. If it were in garter or stockinette I would be okay, but with all the yos and k2togs I don’t know how to go about picking the stitches back up. I just have to rip back to right after a purl row where I can see all the stitches properly to get them back on the needle. Ugh. But I love how it’s looking so I’m determined to finish it!

Leave a Reply

 
