Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Do all knitters spin?

Posted by Andi on June 18, 2007

Over the past weeks and months I have started reading more knitting blogs and listening to knitting podcasts, and one thing I have noticed more and more is that it seems like many of these knitters are also spinners.  They talk about roving and spindles, and use all sorts of terminology with which I am not familiar.

 Do all knitters spin?  Okay, obviously the answer is no.  Perhaps the more appropriate question is: Do most knitters wish to spin as well?  And if so, am I the weird one because I have no desire to spin?  Ever?  I’ve seen pictures of hand-spun yarn, and it’s gorgeous.  I have heard podcasters wax poetic about spinning, and it certainly sounds as if they enjoy it.  But I have had no desire whatsoever to spin myself.  Why? 

First, I just don’t feel that I have the time to take up one more hobby.  I knit.  I want to learn to crochet, but I sort of put those two things together.  I love watching sports and movies and television.  Concerts and cooking, too.  Oh, and I’m working on my dissertation, and especially when the writing phase starts that will keep me plenty busy.  Once I’m done with my dissertation I hope to start reading for pleasure again.  Where would I stick spinning?  Granted, I put knitting and crochet together, so why not add spinning to that block of time?  Because it would take away from the actual knitting and crocheting, that’s why.  And I’m not willing to do that.

 Second, knitting and concerts take up most of my extra money.  Where would I get money for spinning?

 Third, I live in a tiny 1-bedroom apartment with my boyfriend.  And it’s stuffed.  We have a storage space, and it’s pretty full too.  I have no available space.

 Fourth, I love buying yarn.  I love spending time in yarn stores and feeling all of the yarn, looking at the colors.  I know that I could still purchase yarn as a spinner, but why take away from something I love doing so much?

 Finally, as I’m learning from my de-stashing time, I don’t like looking at the yarn I have and choosing projects to go with it.  I much prefer to pick a project, and if I don’t have a yarn for it, then go to a yarn store and buy it.  Pick project first, then look for yarn.  I think the reason why I’m having such a hard time motivating myself to work on Poinsettia is because I chose that pattern because I had the yarn already in my possession.  And this is weird, because when I originally got the magazine it appears in I decided that I definitely wanted to make Poinsettia, but I didn’t choose to make it in my own time.  I didn’t choose the colors, my stash did, and while I love the way it’s turning out, I feel as if it was forced upon me.  I have heard that many spinners spin yarn and then choose a project for that yarn as opposed to spinning yarn to fit a specific project.  I don’t think I could handle it.

 A small part of me wishes I had an interest in spinning.  I think it would be great to create my own original yarn to use in the project of my choice.  That would make a knitted garment even more unique.  But I just don’t think it’s for me.  Maybe one day?  I don’t know.

One Response to “Do all knitters spin?”

  1. Stacey said

    I think spinning your own yarn is wonderful, and a one-of-a-kind thing you can produce just for yourself and others. But like you I have NO DESIRE to spin either! LOL I agree knittng takes up enough of my discretionary money!! :op

    I also like to “Pick project first, then look for yarn”. I hate keeping a stash. So mine is very small, but all have projects attached to them already! Just a matter of knitting them up! ;o)

Leave a Reply

 
